Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Why I Have Kid(s)

Leave a comment

One of the segment that I love from Ellen DeGeneres Show is “Why I Don’t Have Kids”. This part of the show is so funny and hilarious, although for me…………seeing the pictures and videos of cute little children in this part of the show would make some people want kids and not vice versa, hahaha………

In this segment, Ellen will show some pictures or videos sent in by her audiences showing of what their  kids are doing when their parents are not looking. Even if the parents are away for 1 or 5 minutes, disaster can happen. Crazy situation like a boy who got stuck up in a toilet, the kitchen floor full of flour, the sink flooded with cereal, a brother who put his sister into the oven, a boy who spread the paint all over the living room, and into his his body too, little girl is playing with mom’s make up kit, the kids body full of shaving cream or strawberry jam, and other crazy things that you would never imagine could happen in the sweet and innocent kids world………….

My boy and I enjoy this segment so much and we laugh very hard together because those kids are cute and funny, and although they have caused big troubles, they are still able to look to the parents eyes with innocent faces. Who would not fall in love with them? And I think that should be the reason why we should have kids, hahaha…………….

So, getting my inspiration from Ellen Show, I decided to make list of things that resemble of what Ellen did, but since I love having kid(s), I will call it “Why I have kid(s)”. It’s just for fun and I try to think of something fun, so don’t expect very serious reasons in this post.

It’s easy to make list of things like this when we see squishy little babies because they are just so goofy and gummy and chewy, hahaha…………..but my son is almost a teenager now, so I thought I’m gonna do it from the perspective of a mother’s who has a preteen boy.

So let’s start, shall we………..?

 

“WHY I HAVE KID(S)”

I’m addicted to Mother’s Day Cards

I love Mother’s Day Cards, no matter how simple they are. In fact, can we celebrate mother’s day every month so I can get a new card every once a month?

For the last 3 years, my mother's day card always came in Chinese.............

For the last 3 years, my mother’s day card always came in Chinese………….

 

We can daydream together 

It doesn’t mean that I don’t share my dreams with my husband, but it’s different when I’m talking to this kid. In his mind, being a kid, there are no boundaries and he believes that we can have whatever we want and do whatever we want to do. When two adults are talking, our minds are full of things like: “hey, can we afford this”, “this is very expensive and financially, we can’t do this until years later”, “we are too old to do this (and indeed we are)”, “it will be too tiring for us”, “I can’t take leave for such a long time”, “what if something bad happen while we do bungee jumping”…………..etc.

With my lil boy, everything is possible for him, hahaha…………….money is no problem at all because he doesn’t really understand the concept of “very expensive” or “financially impossible for now”. He doesn’t care if the timing is right or not, because to him………….every school holiday is a good time doesn’t matter if the parents can take leave from the office or not.

So we talk a lot about all the impossible things (in that time it seemed impossible) that we want to do, like joining The Amazing Race (my husband can’t swim, so there’s no way he’ll be my teammate on Amazing Race, hahaha…………), go to Africa to see wildebeest, riding roller coaster on the other side of the world, invent a time machine (and other inventions that we think will make our lives easier), discussing about all kinds of junk food in the world that we want to eat (impossible to even talk about this with daddy since he’s in a very strict diet), why everyday is not school holiday, and other crazy things that just flash in our mind at that time. There are no obstacles, in his mind…………everything is possible, and since I like to daydream, I really enjoy having these conversations with him, hahaha…………..

 

One day, we'll have a big and beautiful library in our house...........

One day, we’ll have a big and beautiful library in our house………..

 

I love play dates (I need hot juicy gossip and taste new food)

The easiest way to find new friends is at the school, where I can meet other moms, I especially love when we’re on play dates……….where we could exchange food and gossips stories. It’s the best and easiest way to taste home cooked food from other countries and make new friends.

It's less fun without you...........

It’s less fun without you………..

 

Make me realize that I have new hobbies, and that is………..taking pictures and blogging

As I said before, my memories have smaller capacity than my hard drive, so I love taking pictures and keep them in my laptop or USB. I mostly like taking pictures with the people I know inside the pictures (not just flowers of scenery without anyone I know inside the photos). It wasn’t like this before the boy was born, so I consider it my new hobby…………which was fun of course…………

My other new hobby is definitely blogging………….I never knew that I love writing so much until I realized that I wanted to capture every sad, happy, exciting, and also  disappointing moments in our family life my online diary. I want to share my experiences to other people and hope that it might help them too.

A blogger in the making

A blogger in the making

 

He made me exercise 

Although I used to like PE lesson when I was in school, but when I graduated, I became a very lazy person and I never exercised (the main reason why it was very difficult for me to loose weight after giving birth……………). But now, I have to take him out: swimming, cycling, playing in the playground, walking for hours, playing basketball and football, chasing him around the house when he was a toddler, etc. When you’re a mom, then you’ll know it…………everyday is exercise day when you’re with your kid…………

We cycled for 5 km

We cycled for 5 km, all because I read the signage wrongly. I thought it was 700 m away , but it was actually 7000 m…………..in up and down roads that we finally gave up and came back…………but at least, we had a good laugh and ice cream after that

 

I share my favorite TV shows ( and books) with him

It’s a fact that my husband and I do not share one thing in common: our favorite movies and TV shows. With my son, it is different. We watch The Voice, Amazing Race, Master Chef Australia and Junior Master Chef Australia, sports (Sea Games and Olympic), Haunted Hathaways and Instant Mom (from Nickelodeon and they’re both very funny) together. We read the same books (sometimes), especially Enid Blyton books. It’s a good feeling when you can share something you like with someone very special.

When I was craving for KFC, this was the one that I took with me.........

When I was craving for KFC, he was the one that I took with me………(my husband is not allowed to eat this and I hate eating alone, so he was happily tag along with me)

 

I get help doing the house chores

As the boy is getting older, I started to ask him to help me in the house (although it’s very difficult to do so during school days because he is very busy). He washes the dishes (his own only so far), tidy up his bed, and even help me in the kitchen. It is great when you have someone to help you with the house chores, it really lighten your burden. I even asked him to start learning how to cook so he can cook during the school holiday and I can sit down and relax, hahaha………….

He helped me cutting the banana leaves. I said: "If you have nothing better to do, then you better help me with these banana leaves" and he was happily came and sit down in front of me

He helped me cutting the banana leaves. I said: “If you have nothing better to do, then you better help me with these banana leaves” and he was happily came and sit down in front of me…………..but then he said it was very tiring as there were so many leaves, hahaha……….

 

Someone to hug, play with, and do silly things together and he’s ready 24 hours a day (only happens in school holiday)

Last but not least………….the most obvious thing: I love to be with him, to accompany him, doing things with him even though it is just a very simple thing like reading books on the bed together or having a conversation on the dining table listening to all his stories (and 24 hours a day during school holiday, and of course, it will be a different story once he’s in Sec School, so let’s just treasure this moment while we are able to)

Going outdoor

Making memories together…………

 

 

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

