Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Up Close and Personal With The Deer In Ranca Upas Ciwidey

Leave a comment

Olla! I can’t believe that the first school semester had finished and now we’re in term 3 already! This year certainly passes by so quickly. As usual, we came back to Jakarta during June school holiday and we spent a very refreshing month staying in my parents’ house (at least, I didn’t have to worry about house chores and what to cook for the whole month………….so yes, it was very relaxing and refreshing). Even my friends said I looked fresh and recharged after going back from Jakarta………….although I had a feeling it was also because I gained weight thanks for almost doing nothing but ate a lot of yummy food during the holiday………….

Anyway, the good thing about going back to Jakarta was that we were able to spend time with my family. We went for a 3 days and 2 nights holiday to the Southern Bandung in West Java. We went to Ciwidey which is known for its fresh air and hot spring resort. It was about 4 to 5 hours drive from Jakarta. Luckily, we went there during the fasting month (before Aidil Fitri Celebration for the Moslem) and we started the journey early in the morning, so there was almost no traffic jam and in 4 hours we already arrived in Ciwidey area.

We managed to get out of the house at 5 am sharp and my sister (thankfully) volunteered to drive all the way to Ciwidey with 2 stops for toilet break and to have a simple breakfast that we brought from home. The boy was obviously slept during the ride (after he had his breakfast in the car) and didn’t wake up until we woke him up when we arrive in Ranca Upas.

Ranca Upas Adventure Camp was our first visit in Ciwidey since it was too early to check in at the hotel. We went there fro one reason…………to see the deer since this place had been so famous as the home for the deer. There were hot spring resort, children playground, and camping area too, but we were just there for the dear deer.

Basically, we just followed the GPS all the way to Kawah Putih (which is also a famous tourist attraction in Ciwidey), and after Kawah Putih, we still went up for about another 15 minutes before we reached Ranca Upas. We had to pay for entry tickets (but it was very cheap, and the boy was still free of charge). After that, we had to drive for another 5 minutes before we could finally see the deer.

IMG_3744_Fotor_Fotor

We could see the deer from a shelter made of bamboo

I guessed it was raining heavily the night before because the ground was so muddy and wet, so we could only see the deer from a small platform on the edge of the bamboo shelter.

IMG_3751

Taking pictures with the deer as the background

 

IMG_3758

Beautiful scenery on the background, and that is why I like mountain view better than beach view…………because the green color gives me a warm feeling inside

 

IMG_3776

The boy and the grandfather. My dad is already 71 years old now, but he is still very good at driving, although we never let him drive in a long journey anymore nowadays

There was boots rental for us if we wanted to go down, but sadly there was no staff that we could find nearby around the place. We could also actually feed the deer by buying some carrots too, but again………..no selling of carrots that day even though it was on the weekend.

IMG_3760

Since we couldn’t get down, we just took pictures from the higher platform

 

Luckily, we brought some carrots so the boy could feed the deer. It was a good idea to bring our own carrots, so the deer would want to come near us.

IMG_3781

A very hungry deer

 

IMG_3793

We basically just waved the carrots to the deer and it will come near to us to get the carrot

 

IMG_3797

We got very close to the deer and the boy was even brave enough to pat its head

We saw some teenagers braved themselves to go down to the muddy area to get a closer look and better pictures with the deer, but the deer got quite scare when the noisy group came closer to them, so they started to run to the farthest area of the field.

IMG_3775

Look at how muddy and wet the ground was………..and this was when the deer started to run away from the crowd

When he saw the group of teenagers went down to the ground, the boy said he also wanted to do so by jumping on the dry rocks to get a closer look to the deer and to feed them (since they were running away quite far from the platform). I refused at first and he was so persistent so I agreed but I told him to be careful……………and so here we were going down to the muddy and wet ground………………..and it was a bad idea………….

IMG_3803

He finally got to be this close to the deer………..

but then the deer wanted more and more carrots and started to act very aggressive, and it even chased us to get more carrots………

IMG_3804

The deer started to act aggressively to get the carrots

So finally, we were afraid that it might get us and we started to run to the platform………….and then that was when one of the boy’s shoe got stuck in the mud, and because he was afraid, he just left his shoe and run back to the platform……………….and guess what……………..mommy had to go down again to rescue the shoe which was already buried down in the mud. Under the watchful eye of the deer, I had to pull the shoe with a long wood while trying not to fall down to the mud, and it was soooo………..difficult, but it was a new shoe so I had to get it back.

And it wasn’t finished there, because after that I had to clean the muddy shoes (his shoes and my shoes) under a tap water nearby. Luckily, I could laugh after the incident and thought that it was actually very funny when the deer was chasing us and then the boy got his shoe stuck in the mud and I had to pull his shoe from the mud. Well, at least there was something funny to remember from our visit………………..

This place is a good alternative instead of Bandung City and Lembang Area to bring your kids a little bit closer to the nature…………….and it’s not expensive at all. If you come from Jakarta, it is better to start early in the morning you you won’t be caught in the traffic jam.

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

