Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Batu and Malang (East Java) Trip Day-3: Kusuma Agrowisata and Selecta

Leave a comment

This would be our third day in Malang, East Java. Thankfully, despite the very busy schedule, the boy stayed healthy during the trip. So far, he said he enjoyed everything and he also loved the rides in BNS (Batu Spectacular Night).

Unfortunately, I started the day badly, because I had diarrhea and had to go to the bathroom for so many times…………and then I took Imodium (very strong medicine for diarrhea), and it stopped my diarrhea, but then another problem came. The dose was too strong and made my stomach hurt and I felt like I wanted to vomit all the time (this gastric problem was soooo………annoying). So, my mom and my sister went out with the driver to buy breakfast while I slept in the hotel, and the boy was also chose to stay as he could continue watching his favorite cartoon shows………….

Bubur Ayam Warung Agus............very recommended

Bubur Ayam Warung Agus…………very recommended

 

super yummy chicken porridge

super yummy chicken porridge………..bubur ayam kampung yang biasa dibeli waktu kecil dulu dan bener- bener ngangenin, yang beda banget rasanya sama bubur yang biasa dijual di Singapore, dan yang ini rasanya top banget, jauh lebih enak daripada bubur Hongkong pokoknya

After I finished my breakfast and took another medicine for my gastric problem, we were ready to go to one of the places that you can not miss if you visit Batu. Batu is known with its apple orchards and Apel Malang or apples from Malang City are very well known in Indonesia as one of the finest local apple products. Batu is also known as Kota Apel or The City of Apples. The local people also process the apples into various products such as yogurt, jam, juice, and chips. Most people will bring home apple chips as oleh-oleh or souvenir. Apple picking tour is also a well know tourism object in Batu, and today, we would be going to Kusuma Agrowisata to pick apples in the apple orchards.

We’d never been to an apple orchard before, so I thought this back to nature experience would be very good for the boy. Kusuma Agrowisata was also a famous spot to pick apples and it was also recommended by our driver. So let’s see if we would have good experience in here…………let’s start the tour……………

Kusuma Agrowisata was a huge place, with bungalows, hotels, gardens, water park, playgrounds, conference room, restaurant, and of course, a well known fruit farm. There were many kind of fruits that could be picked such as apples, guava, dragon fruit, oranges, but when we came, it was the picking season for apples and guava only.

Rp 25.000,- per person to enter this waterpark

Rp 25.000,- per person to enter this waterpark

There were 2 choices of package, and the price for weekday was: (add Rp 5000,- for weekend price)

Package 1: Rp 60.000,- per person and each person will get: welcome drink (yogurt), can pick 2 apples and 2 guavas, juice, and toast bread. A tour guide is included

Package 1: Rp 70.000,- per person and each person will get: welcome drink (yogurt), can pick 2 apples and 2 guavas, juice, and fried rice/fried noodle. A tour guide is included

We chose the first package and for the welcome drink we could choose between strawberry, apple, or grape yogurt. It was so hot that day that the boy finished his strawberry yogurt very fast (he usually didn’t like yogurt).

Cold yogurt was just perfect for a hot day like that day........

Cold yogurt was just perfect for a hot day like that day……..

First, we would pick guava and the farm was only a short walking distance from the ticketing counter. We had to enter through this gate to go to the guava farm:

This was our tour guide and I

This was our tour guide and we would only say one thing about her: Her Service Was IMPRESSIVE! She was sweet, kind, patience, helpful, and supplied us with detail information about many things that we needed to know about the farming and the fruits. She waited patiently when we needed to rest, go to toilet, and even when we needed a long time to pick the right fruits. We could even sample the fruits first……………we gave 2 thumbs up for her hospitality. By the way, on the way to the apple farm which was quite far from the guava farm, my mom also had a nice conversation with her along the way while the three of us were busy doing many other things such as eating, drinking, sightseeing, taking photos, etc. so we were left behind by the two of them, hahaha……….

 

She even offered help to take our picture together with Mount Panderman in the background

She even offered help to take our picture together with Mount Panderman in the background

The tour guide helped us to pick the ripe and big fruits. She would go from one tree to another to find the right fruits for us and this process could take a long time, but she didn’t hurry us or force us to pick the fruits that she had chosen, if we didn’t agree then she would find another one.

She was a good supporter for the boy who at first having difficultly pulling the fruit from its branch

She was a good supporter for the boy who at first having difficultly pulling the fruit from its branch

 

And he was an expert then..............

And he was an expert then…………..

And what did the boy do once he picked a fruit?

He made it into a juggling ball........

He made it into a juggling ball……..

And how did the guava taste?

Sweet.........!

Sweet………!

Next was the photo session………….all the ladies wanted to take pictures with the fruits, hahaha………….

My mother, who flowers and fruit trees

My mother, who loves flowers and fruit trees

 

and me, who didn't dare to try the guava at all because of my gastric problem

and me, who didn’t dare to try the guava at all because of my gastric problem

Next stop would be the apple orchard. We saw a mini zoo on the way to the apple farm. Luckily, it was hot that day. I couldn’t imagine walking in a muddy farm under the rain.

Let's go to pick some apples...........the mini zoo was on our left and right side

Let’s go to pick some apples………..the mini zoo was on our left and right side

 

Entering the farm

Entering the farm

The apples from this farm are small (very small), green in color, and with not so smooth skin. All this time, I thought this kind of apples would taste sour, but surprisingly, these apples tasted sweet and juice although a bit hard to chew.

I had to lower down the branch so the boy could pick this

I had to lower down the branch so the boy could pick this apple

On this time, everyone had gone on their own way and didn’t follow the tour leader, hahaha………

The boy was still diligently picking apples

The boy was still diligently picking apples

 

Hmmm..............yup, you are perfect for.......

Hmmm…………..yup, you are perfect for…….

 

throw and catch game...........

throw and catch game………..

 

He happily made the apples into juggling balls

He happily made the apples into juggling balls

 

Somebody was busy chewing apples.......

Somebody was busy chewing apples…….

 

and another person was busy taking pictures

and another person was busy taking pictures

Ok then, we were done in the apple farm, and thankfully there was a car waiting outside the farm to take us back up the hill. We then exchanged our entrance ticket with a glass of guava juice and strawberry toast bread.

Nyam....nyam.....

Nyam….nyam…..

 

Cold juice and hot bread..........perfect for the hungry and thirsty customers.......

Cold juice and hot bread……….perfect for the hungry and thirsty customers…….

Although it was hot, the boy insisted that he wanted to play in the playground near the water park.

Playground time

Playground time

 

His auntie accompanied him while I waited in the restaurant

His auntie accompanied him while I waited in the restaurant

We found another playground on the way back to the car, and of course…………we were stuck there for another (almost) 1 hour.

Look who had fun together..........

Look who had fun together……….

 

Mommy was not feeling well, so she just sat down and had lunch in the garden

Mommy was not feeling well, so she just sat down and had lunch in the garden

 

Nasi tim ayam

Another food from Warung Agus: nasi tim ayam (steam rice with chicken and mushroom in sweet soy sauce) on the left was delicious, but the fried pork meatballs was only nice when they were hot

 

A quiet garden

A quiet garden

 

Keep playing........

Keep playing……..

 

A big dinosaur in the middle of the playground.......

A big dinosaur in the middle of the playground…….

From Kusuma Agrowisata, we continued the journey to Selecta, a big and huge flower garden. The main reason we visited this place was because the boy wanted to ride a horse. Entry ticket was Rp 25.000,- per person.

The visit was a big disappointment for us. We didn’t know that there was no horse riding on weekday, and all the children rides were already closed (or even didn’t open at all) when we arrived at about 3.30 pm. The place was not so clean, and the garden was not as what we expected, but we were here already, so let’s just enjoy it……….

Water play was already included in the entry ticket

Water play was already included in the entry ticket

 

He still wanted to play in the cold water

He still wanted to play in the cold water

 

The water was very cold, but amazingly many kids played here for a long time

The water was very cold, but amazingly many kids played here for a long time

 

He only tried the slides 4 or 5 times, then done........

He only tried the slides 4 or 5 times, then done……..

 

This pork rice dumpling from Warung Agus was also very delicious (big size with lots of pork inside). Since we couldn't find any food stall inside Selecta (they probably closed too during weekday), these rice dumplings were the savior for our hungry stomachs

This pork rice dumpling from Warung Agus was also very delicious (big size with lots of pork inside). Since we couldn’t find any food stall inside Selecta (they probably closed too during weekday), these rice dumplings were the savior for our hungry stomachs

 

After finished playing in the water park, we went around to see the flowers. The boy was agreed to take pictures with the flowers for one time only (he was still upset because everything was closed)

After finished playing in the water park, we went around to see the flowers. The boy was agreed to take pictures with the flowers for one time only (he was still upset because everything that was fun for him was closed)

 

My mom who loves flowers

My mom who loves flowers

 

My sister who also loves flowers

My sister who also loves flowers

 

and me in the middle of the flowers

and me in the middle of the flowers

Since I didn’t feel well, I decided to come back to the hotel with the boy while my mom and sister bought dinner and went to the souvenir shop (Senza Shop) to buy apple chips, jackfruit chips, tempeh chips, and my favorite pia malang.

Snacking while waiting for dinner

Snacking while waiting for dinner

 

My mom bought mochi (yumm......my favorite) from Senza

My mom bought mochi (yumm……my favorite) from Senza

 

Our dinner plus white rice. I didn't know if the food was good or not, I just ate because I had to, if not my gastric problem would be worsen.

Our dinner plus white rice. I didn’t know if the food was good or not, I just ate because I had to, if not my gastric problem would be worsen.

I went straight to bed after that and hopefully I would feel better on the next day.

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

