Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

When I Grow Up

4 Comments

When I Grow Up

Hooray because it’s weekend and next week there will be 4 days school holidays, but still………………I expect we will not go out to do outdoor activities at all. How sad it is? And no, it is not because of the haze. It is because the boy has so much homework to do and he must prepare for the upcoming exams just after the holiday. Plus, during the holidays he will also has his round two GEP test (he passed round one with his other four friends and one of them is his best friend, yay……) for two days (half day each day), so I predict there will be not much time left in between.

When he got home from school, I asked how much homework that he got from his teachers and the number was quite shocking to me, hahaha……………and suddenly I felt exhausted and dizzy just imagining of how to do everything by next week. While the boy………….well, let’s just say that children will be children………….he seemed confident and relax……….hahaha……it’s always mama who is in panic mode, isn’t it? Well, let’s take a deep breath while hoping for the best…………….and meanwhile:

Ice Cream

Now back to the topic, about 2 months ago, in order to Celebrate Children’s Day, the school asked for the children’s participation to submit videos explaining of what they want to be when they grow up ( voluntarily). The boy said he would like to participate and then we just kind of forgot until 10 am at night of the last day when he was supposed to submit his video, so I just recorded using my phone with no supporting properties at all.

On Children’s Day, the school played the video and I was surprised and speechless to see how good some of them were. Like, seriously………..??? did they hire professionals to make the videos? no……….just joking. My friend said her husband made the concept, recorded it, did the editing, the music, etc. And I was ………………okay…………….if the husbands did it, then I’ll have no hope with mine, hahaha………….it’s very hard to imagine that my husband will have passion to learn how to make good videos, so I’ll just rely to myself…………..and since I’m a competitive person, let’s get serious and make a good one next year………….well, one can always hope, right?

So, what does he want to be when he grows up? Like most of his friends, he wants to be a scientist. Why none of these kids want to a director or a businessman? I mean hey those two things look real compared to being a scientist, because if I asked further question about what kind of scientist that they want to be………..most of them couldn’t give further explanation. So the concept in their minds is that being a scientist is really cool, especially when many of their friends have the same idea too, although they do not not exactly what kind of scientists that they want to be.

When I Grow Up

I think being scientists is really cool and I truly admire their works so much, especially after I watch my favorite TV series The New Detectives and Forensic Files these days. I am always amaze at how they could find evidences and clues from very small particles and matched them with the suspects’ DNA, finger prints, shoe prints, tire prints, and they could even matched whether some woods or ropes or wires came from the same sources. Just wow!!! They could even draw faces from the remaining skulls! Just how awesome was that??? One more think, they helped so many people get the justice and put bad people behind bars using their skills and knowledge……………….absolutely real life heroes……….

So I asked the boy whether he wants to be that kind of scientist so he can help many people through his work, and he definitely said NO…………….too scary he said, hahaha……….. He said he wants to do some research, go around the world to dig dinosaur’s fossils, and maybe even invents some very useful products.

DSC03260

Hmmm……….and I wonder why he never explicitly says that he wants to be a writer or an artist because he likes to write and he also likes to draw so much, or even maybe a computer game creator because he likes to draw his own version of board games. It’s very common for the children to say that they want to be doctors, teachers, scientists, police officers, or pilot, but there are many possibilities that we should start to introduce to them. Once I watched a family reality show, and a four year old girl said she wants to be an athlete when she grows up (and she is also a very competitive person so that’s why being an athlete will suit her). It’s very rare to hear that a little child wants to be an athlete, so it really amazed me.

IMG_5099

As other kids usually do, there is a big possibility that he will change his mind of what he’s going to be when he grows up, but whatever it is we hope that he will grow up happy and healthy and always do good things and most importantly he will always walk in God’s way.

Let's Play

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

4 thoughts on “When I Grow Up

  1. Libur tapi kali banyak pr ya bikin pusing ya. Hahaha.

    Btw berarti lu ada waktu 1 yg buat belajar video editing hahaha

    • Makanya mending gak libur deh kalo menurut gua, sadis bener kasih pekerjaan rumahnya. Sebelum belajar video editing gua perlu beli handy camnya dulu nih, hahaha…… Memang gua tanya pada pake handycam dan tripod sih makanya bisa jernih dan gak goyang gambarnya.

  2. Iya… aku juga suka sebel tuh kalo liburan dikasih pr segubrakan….! Yaaa…. gak bisa nyantai juga ini mah namanya. Satu satunya yang aman yaaa liburan kenaikan kelas…. tanpa pr he..he.he.he….^_^

    • Ditambah lagi karena abis libur itu udah langsung exam kenaikan kelas, jadi liburan yang mestinya dibuat belajar malahan habis waktunya buat ngerjain PR. Belum lagi kalau pas exam day pun masih dikasih PR, temenku sampe ada yang tulis surat komplen ke gurunya, hihihi……..frontal kalo dia sih gak perlu ngedumel di belakang dan langsung action, hahaha………..

Leave a Reply

