Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Our Family Sydney Trip 2015: Before and After

Leave a comment

Form our recent trip, I will try to add some things that came to my mind as notes for me and the other family member when they read this:

  • This was the farthest trip for the three of us only. We went to Gold Coast last year, but at that time we had my mom and sister too, so that wasn’t counted. Although I felt a bit nervous at first, but thankfully all went well. Thank God everyone was healthy during the trip and even until now, and we enjoyed our togetherness and our holiday so much. There was almost no arguments or disagreements during the trip, and amazingly we really tried to understand each other really well. We just did what the quotes says “go with the flow” and tried to relax as much as we could although we had itinerary, but we tried to make them it as flexible as we could. We didn’t go early in the morning and come back very late at night. Whenever we felt tired, we just rested and enjoyed the day even though that meant that we missed some attractions or things to see. We had enough sleep (something that rarely happened in our trips). As a result, we woke up fresh in the morning and started the day with good spirit and no one showed tantrum or crankiness during the day.
    No need to hurry..........we  started the day slowly

    No need to hurry……….we started the day slowly…………..and in front of the TV……….

    We arrived early and spent the time to rest and did something fun, like watching a stand up comedy that made everyone laughed

    We arrived early and spent the time to rest and did something fun, like watching a stand up comedy that made everyone laughed

  • Changi Airport Playground used to be a fun place for the lil one…………..but now not anymore. He said it was just suitable for little kids and not for him……………It was the first time that we would board the plane from Terminal 3, so we felt excited to see what the playground inside the departure terminal would be. Well, instead of feeling excited, he was disappointed, hahaha………….yeah, I think he’s too big for this now.
    He only played here for less than 5 minutes

    He only played here for less than 5 minutes, and more interested to go here:

    IMG_1036

    That was the first time I knew that there was a Hard Rock Cafe inside the airport………

    And also this place...........a comfortable place to sleep and spend the night.......I also never saw this before

    And also this place………..a comfortable place to sleep and spend the night…….I also never saw this before

  • He always likes airport lounge (yes even until now), hahaha…………..so he asked to go earlier to the airport to enjoy the lounge………..We waited in KrisFlyer Gold Lounge but we agreed that the SATS Lounge in Terminal 2 was better (more spacious, had private areas, the distance between chairs and tables were more convenient, more computers, had toilets with showers, big TVs with interesting movies, and also had massage chairs). When I asked him why he now liked to eat a lot and ate so many things that he usually didn’t like when he was smaller, he said: “You know that my taste buds change as I grow. I like things that I didn’t like or I don’t like things that I usually liked. Like the tokyo banana, I used to like it but now not anymore.” I couldn’t help but smiled and really didn’t expect to get a very clear answer like that…………………
    First thing first at the lounge.............potato chips! Crispy potato chip! and lots of them!

    First thing first at the lounge………….potato chips! Crispy potato chip! and lots of them!

    Our second dinner...........we already had light dinner at home (fried rice with grill salmon---in small portion of course), and

    Our second dinner………..we already had light dinner at home (fried rice with grill salmon—in small portion of course), and continued here

    IMG_1047

    There was only one computer at the lounge and it was occupied, so he played with daddy’s Samsung phone

    Dinner was closed with dessert

    Dinner was closed with dessert

    Drinks.........anyone..........

    Drinks………anyone……….there was also wine served on the table but we didn’t take it of course

    Finally................he could play with the computer

    Finally…………….he could play with the computer……………but it didn’t really work well (the computer I mean………..)

    His second glass of milk before the morning flight (12.45 AM was morning already.............)

    His second glass of milk before the morning flight (12.45 AM was morning already………….rite???)

    He

    The boat in Terminal 3………………last picture before boarding

  • I was afraid about the flight because based on our Gold Coast Trip (8 hours trip from Singapore-Gold Coast and vice versa)……………..it was so tiring………..and everyone was restless, and we couldn’t wait to finally arrive again on land. Fortunately, this time was different……………well, I now know very well why we should not using budget airlines on long flights (at least 8 hours was considered very long for us). This time we flew with Singapore Airlines, and it was soooo different. It felt different for me because the boy enjoyed the flight, he had fun, and he wasn’t cranky at all, so for me that was counted as very enjoyable. I didn’t really care about the food or the entertainment system (I never really enjoy watching movies too these days) or other facilities, but as long as the boy had fun and could entertain himself so I could have some peaceful time for myself (with distractions in between of course, you can’t expect the whole time for yourself if you are with a child on a flight – go to toilet, ask for water, open the plastic wrap of his food, cut his food, his ears hurt during the flight, help him to adjust the TV setting, sleep on your lap which makes your thighs stiffed and at the same time you need to go to toilet but you are afraid to wake him up, make sure he’s comfortable with the pillow and blanket during his sleep, hold his cup and food because he still wants to finish later and he doesn’t want to put them in his tray and your tray is quite full also, etc………..etc…………). But overall, they were just small things compared to the peaceful flight that I had. No need to worry about food or drink (very important if you are with a child), about entertainment, or how to make him comfortable. So I was so happy that we flew with SQ this time because it was so relaxing for me (total cost was $1200 for tax and administration fee, we got 3 free return tickets by redeeming KrisFlyer Mileage).
    I also just knew that there would be special queue in Sydney immigration clearance line

    I also just knew by then that there would be special queue in Sydney for immigration, custom, and quarantine (for KrisFlyer Gold Member), so we would use this express pass to go through immigration and customs (if there was nothing to declare)

    SQ Night

    He made himself comfortable as soon as he sat on the plane with pillows, blanket, entertainment system, and souvenir for kids

    Seriously reading Phineas and Ferb book and SQ book menu

    Seriously reading Phineas and Ferb book and SQ book menu

    He enjoyed the kids meal and said it was better than adults meal, hahaha..............

    He enjoyed the kids meal and said it was better than adults meal, hahaha…………..

    Snack (especially for kids) was served not long after the plane took off. It is still a mystery to me how he could still eat everything even after his second dinner at the lounge, hahaha..........

    Snack (especially for kids) was served not long after the plane took off. It is still a mystery to me how he could still eat everything even after his second dinner at the lounge, hahaha……….

    Even I felt full for snack and breakfast............I didn't finish both although they were both very yummy........

    Even I felt full for snack and breakfast…………I didn’t finish both although they were both very yummy……..especially the turkey sandwich

    Three sets of socks and toothbrushes

    Three sets of socks and toothbrushes

    Breakfast time........he never likes this kind of omelette (just like me........we eat eggs in different way)

    Breakfast time……..he never likes this kind of omelette (just like me……..we eat eggs in different way). Raisins was included in Kids Meal Breakfats

  • I have learnt from the experience based on our Gold Coast trip………….that asking the boy to sleep was useless and would create unnecessary arguments that would make both of us very tired. So I let him played and did whatever he wanted during the flight, and when he was tired he would turn off the TV, laid on my lap, and felt asleep within seconds. Miracle happened……………!!!! hahaha…………..no arguments…………everyone had peace on the flight.

    I would be glad if he could sleep by himself like this

    I would be glad if he could sleep by himself like this

  • Although I’ve read that the queue in immigration and customs in Sydney Airport could be quite long, to our surprise it wasn’t like what we imagined or even experienced in Gold Coast (we needed at least 2 hours to finally cleared everything because the queue was very long). Although we used Express Pass and there was no queue in the express line, but we saw that the other lines were almost empty too (we arrived at around 11 AM). There was no queue at all at the custom, and the staff only asked 1 question about our declared items and let us went through the exit door without checking the luggage. So the process was very smooth and fast. But then again, we had to queue for the Optus Card and we had difficulty in finding Opal Card, so we were very tired and hungry after that. The boy’s eyes already glued in Mc Donald and french fries………….and we saw no other good food option for us, so Mc Donald it was.
    The adults didn't really have appetite on Mc Donald, we we just shared french fries

    The adults didn’t really have appetite on Mc Donald, we we just shared french fries and drink

    There was even Minion package (I don't know whether they have it in Singapore because we don't go to Mc Donald often), and it had vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce and mint candies with banana flavor (the texture was a bit like jelly candy)

    There was even Minion package (I don’t know whether they had it in Singapore because we didn’t go to Mc Donald often), and it had vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce and yellow mint candies with banana shape flavor (the texture was a bit like jelly candy)…………………so cute……………………..

  • On the way back to Singapore, the Express Pass helped a lot because we could skip the queues and just lined up with the other express pass holders. The airport was big (unlike Gold Coast of course) and the we had to walk quite far to our gate……………..but we didn’t have time to take photos or shopping in the duty free store as we were only had limited time before boarding and we still wanted to visit this:
    KrisFlyer Gold Lounge............when else we could try the lounge in Sydney???

    KrisFlyer Gold Lounge…………when else we could try the lounge in Sydney???

    He immediately walked to the food bar and helped himself with the food without even finding a seat, hahaha.............

    He immediately walked to the food bar and helped himself with the food without even finding a seat, hahaha………….

    Apple jouce for me and toast bread for the boy

    Apple jouce for me and toast bread for the boy

    This boy preferred bread unlike his parents who chose rice, noodle, and beehoon. This lounge even served chili............

    This boy preferred bread unlike his parents who chose rice, noodle, and beehoon. This lounge even served chili…………

    Tasty chicken pie and pudding

    Tasty chicken pie and pudding

  • The boy was the one who really enjoyed the flight home. The adults were just hoping that we could go home soon, but this lil one really didn’t waste his last part of Sydney holiday and entertained himself with many things on the plane. He said he liked the plane, the food, the movies, the games, and especially the kids meal, hahaha……………
    He really knew how to refresh himself...........

    He really knew how to refresh himself………..

    Eyes glued to the screen........

    Eyes glued to the screen……..

    He already said he was very hungry just as soon as the plane took off……………..and he already had breakfast at the hotel and snack at the airport lounge! So he was very glad when the food finally came……………..and with potato chips! Sea salt flavor! His favorite! Too bad I couldn’t order kids meal for myself…………

    The complete package of kids meal, including a gingerbread man cookie

    The complete package of kids meal, including a gingerbread man cookie

    I knew what was in his mind: "How can I be so lucky today and get chips for my lunch........???"

    I knew what was in his mind: “How can I be so lucky today and get chips for my lunch……..???”

    He finished pasta bolognese within minutes...so quick....he must be really hungry, and he usually didn't like this kind of food

    He finished pasta bolognese within minutes…so quick….he must be really hungry, and he usually didn’t like this kind of food

    and he continued by eating my bread with butter and ham.........

    and he continued by eating my bread with butter and ham………

    My food with mini ice cream as dessert..............luckily it was chocolate so he didn't like it, so I could eat in peace

    My food with mini ice cream as dessert…………..luckily it was chocolate so he didn’t like it, so I could eat in peace

    These pancakes were not enough for his snack, so I shared half of my food

    These pancakes were not enough for his snack, so I shared half of my food. His appetite during the holiday was amazing…………..but now it’s back to normal already

    Writing and eating happily..........

    Writing and eating happily……….

     

Note to myself (nothing to do with the flight or the airport):

  • I found out that my face moisturizer absorbed very quick on my skin during the trip. Within seconds! I was so amazed! I usually needed at least 5 minutes to apply my sunblock and another 5 minutes after my sunblock to put face powder and other make up thingy, but this time I could apply one after the other very quick. And my face wasn’t too oily too the whole day. Was it because of the weather, the temperature, or whatever…………..I don’t know, but it really saved my time in the morning.
  • After I washed my hair, I just blow dry and used my hair straightener to make my hair straight or a bit curly in the morning, and the style lasted for at least 2 days or until I washed my hair again. My hair didn’t get frizzy easily and it was  so easy to do the styling…………felt like I used hair conditioner the whole day (and I didn’t even bring my hair conditioner). I didn’t tie my hair unless the wind blew so strong. Back in the hot weather in here, I tried to do the same thing…………..and it fails…………my hair gets messy and curly again in 5 minutes after I was done with my hair straightener, and it is so hot and I have to tie up my hair almost all day………….so it goes back to its curly condition again very fast……………

Well, enough about the hair…………….our trip was over and we hated to say goodbye to Sydney and started the rest of the holiday at home again (but we’re watching SEA Games tomorrow and we will cheer up for team Indonesia………….yay for that).

Saying godbye..........

Saying goodbye……….and this is going to be my last post about our Sydney trip too………..

On the plane, I saw this very funny and interesting article that really describe what the kids will do during the holiday. It is so true for most kids and the story ends so hilariously funny…………….

Lesson learnt: let the kids play and have fun and enjoy the holiday. Don't send them to any courses that has anything to do with school............hahahaha......NOTED!

Lesson learnt: let the kids play and have fun and enjoy the holiday. Don’t send them to any courses that has anything to do with school…………hahahaha……NOTED!

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

