Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

This Mother’s Day

10 Comments

IMG_0601

I worked in the Training Department for more than 10 years before I finally quit my job and moved to Singapore. So when I saw the words Team Building in one of the mall last week, it kinda remind me of the days when I used to work in the office.

Some of my friends sometimes ask if I miss going back to work…………..(I’ve been a full time mom for 3 years until now), which I replied immediately and in firm voice: “I don’t miss going back to work, but I miss my friends.”

It is true indeed. I worked for about 13 years in total, and the 6 last years with a child on my side. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed working so much at that time (in my last company) that sometimes I couldn’t wait for Monday to come and went back to the office. Strange, but true…….. On the other hand, I also couldn’t deny that I felt bored with my job in the last few months before I finally decided to quit and join daddy in Singapore. Still, at that time I had so many friends in my office and some of them still remain as my best friends until now.

I was at the top of my career with good position and then suddenly I had to switch my role to a full time mom. It was difficult at first but as time goes by, it is becoming easier. Do I have any regrets of quitting my job? I have to admit yes at first, but not anymore right now. For the first 6 years of my son’s early age and for 4 years when he was in toddler class, nursery class, and finally kindergarten, I have had missed so many things. I was not able to attend many occasions at his school, from Christmas Party, Easter Celebration, Parents Day, Pizza Making Day, End of School Day, National Day, and even when he was competing in schools. Name other school activities and I can assure you that I didn’t come in most of them. I think I regret those more than anything. Thank God I was still be able to attend his Graduation Day.

Now, as a SAHM (Stay At Home Mom), things are completely different. I also join The Parent Support Group since the boy was in Primary 2 (good if you want to make totally new different friends from other countries), and since then I was able to attend most of his school activities. End of school year celebration, parent teacher breakfast meeting, Racial Harmony Day, Chinese New Year, volunteer in school field trips or other activities, and a bunch of other things. He is always very glad if I say I am going to volunteer to help in school for certain activities because he likes to see me around the school. Sometimes I feel too lazy to volunteer for some occasions, but he always encourage me to register to volunteer. “Yes, yes, you should go……” that’s what he says when I say I probably don’t want to join. I even joined the dance team last year. I do feel that he’s proud when his momma is involved in various activities in schools. Those things are absolutely impossible if I’m still working.

So whenever someone asks if I miss going back to work, I will definitely say “NO” because I want to be here for my son as he grows up, be at home when he comes back from school, accompany him doing many things during the holidays which a working mom cannot do, bring him to his swimming lessons, going to playgrounds in the afternoon on weekdays, serve warm home cook meal everyday after he comes home from school are some things that I do not want to trade with anything else right now.

Having lunch at Swensen's during happy hour on weekday

Having lunch at Swensen’s during happy hour on weekday, something that I can’t do if I’m still at the office

Mall KGP Playground

We even enjoy our holiday in Jakarta (sometimes for the whole moth) in each of the school long holidays. We go to the malls, play in the playground, eat outside, go outside town, or just spend the time together at home

IMG_7927

He spent time with the grandparents during the school holiday

IMG_8049

Going to Waterbom PIK on weekday and in non a school holiday time (Jakarta had slightly different school holiday than Singapore) was heavenly. No queue!!! And cheaper………

IMG_3742

Watching movies on weekdays is also one of our favorite thing to do……..less people and less money to spend…………

Oh, but I still do miss my friends…………..and hopefully we can do reunion someday.

I miss you guys...........wherever you are........

I miss you guys………..wherever you are……..

One of my me time was trips with my friends......

One of my me-time was trips with my friends……

I’ve been in both position, as a working mom and a stay at home mom. Both have their ups and downs. Being a SAHM is not that easy, there are some frustrating moments too, but whatever role we choose, we know since the day we accept this job/role/responsibility as a mother, we will not have holidays…………not even on Mother’s Day…………so let’s just enjoy whatever role that we choose…………………..

For this year Mother’s Day, my card came with this hilarious statement from the boy: “You know that even if I give you the card, you can’t still read what’s inside………….,

because it's in Chinese...............!!!

BECAUSE IT’S IN CHINESE…………….!!!”

oh well……at least I still got my card…………

This was why he came out late from his Sunday School class, all the children were busy making this as gifts for their moms......pretty, isn't it?

This was why he came out late from his Sunday School class, all the children were busy making this as gifts for their moms……pretty, isn’t it? God thing this one didn’t come with Chinese letters………

So mothers…………..whatever role that you choose to be………….do not stop making good memories with your children, they might forget many things happen to them in their childhood in their minds, but not in their hearts.

Happy Mother’s Day to ya all……………………..

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

10 thoughts on “This Mother’s Day

  1. Happy mother day’s… wah suka nonton di artha gading juga yaa….?? Di sekolah anakku gak ada kegiatan apa – apa jadi anak – anak gak pada tau mother day ^_^

    • Kalo pulang Jakarta dan ada film bagus sih biasanya pasti nonton ke Artha Gading, karena satu alasan………..parkirnya gampang, wkwkwkwk…..kalo Mall KGP sih males cari parkirannya.
      Di sini Mother’s Day tuh termasuk hari yang penting, dan dirayain cukup besar2an juga.
      Oya, aku udah baca post yang tentang Mariner Of The Seas, seru banget ya ternyata gak mati gaya naik cruise itu……..btw aku sempet comment juga tapi kok kayaknya enggak masuk ya comment-nya.

      • iyaa kalo di artha gading parkirnya lebih gampang, kalo di MKG ( mall kelapa gading ) emang ruwet + ramai jadi agak susah nyari parkirnya.
        Oh.. iya ?? di postingan yang mana ?? kayaknya gak masuk deh…. aku udah cek gak ada. Tapi, thank u yaa udah mampir mampir ke blog aku……^_^

      • Aku comment di postingan yang paling terakhir, dan barusan udah coba lagi juga. Tapi sepertinya harus nunggu approval untuk bisa masukin comment. Kalau gak masuk juga coba cek deh, apa mungkin informasinya atau bisa juga commentnya nyangkut di spam folder?

  2. udah….. ada nih…. udah aku publish juga….^_^, thank you yaa . Blognya boleh gak aku link, aku masukkin reading listnya di blog aku ?

  3. happy mother’s day!

    setuju.. SAHM atau working mothers ada plus minus-nya sendiri-sendiri. just enjoy and be happy🙂

    • Iya betul, dibawa enjoy aja ya…… Kalo di jakarta dua duanya sama2 bikin stress. Dulu waktu kerja aku stress kalo pergi pulang kantor krn macet bgt di jalan. Eh pas udah brenti kerja nyobain anter jemput anak sekolah kok ya malahan sama aja, pusing banget jalan ke sekolah macet, cari parkir rebutan, pulang sekolah macet juga. Untunglah skrg di sini sekolah tgl nyebrang gak sampe 5 menit udah sampe, lumayan mengurangi stress, hahaha…..

Leave a Reply

