Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Chicken Bulgogi Recipe (Simple and Healthy yet Delicious)

Leave a comment

I love eating beef/chicken/pork bulgogi in Korean restaurant. One day, when I really didn’t know what to cook and was feeling bored with all my usual cooking, it happened that I watched The Return OF Superman (Korean reality show with 7 super cute children involved) and in this particular episode, I saw the families were eating beef bulgogi in a Korean Restaurant. It looked so good that I searched for the recipe immediately. It would bee good if I could make the dish myself since this dish was not cheap at all.

After I read so many recipes, I chose the one that used all the common ingredients that I had in my kitchen. This recipe might not be so authentic, but if you will not be cooking Korean dish very often, that this recipe is still considered very good and worth to try.

Ingredients:

  1. 300 gr chicken fillet, cut in thin long slice
  2. 2 carrots, grated
  3. 150 gr enoki mushrooms, cut in 3 parts
  4. Onion stalk, grated or cut in thin slices
  5. 1/3 cup kikkoman sauce sauce
  6. 1/3 cup sugar
  7. 1 tsp sesame oil
  8. 1 cup water
  9. 5 cloves of garlic, crush and mince
  10. 1/2 large onion (use the whole onion if you like), cut into slivers. I cut into small pieces so my son couldn’t see them so he would eat them willingly. It turned out he liked the onions, so next time I will cut in long thin slices
  11. Olive oil

Method:

  1. In a large bowl, mix soy sauce, sugar, sesame oil, and water. Whisk until all the sugar dissolve properly into the water
  2. Add garlic and onion slices into the bowl
  3. All all the chicken meat first and mix thoroughly
  4. Add the remaining vegetable and mix again

    Ready to put into the fridge

    Ready to put into the fridge

  5. Put in the fridge for at least 4 hours (I kept overnight)
  6. After 4 hours or more, remove the meat from the marinade

    Strain all the water from the chicken and vegetables

    Strain all the water from the chicken and vegetables

  7. Add olive olive oil into the bottom of a grill pan (I used happy call pan)

    Drizzle olive oil on the bottom of the pan

    Drizzle olive oil on the bottom of the pan

  8. Lay the chicken and vegetable on top of the pan (make sure you don’t put them in layers), fry until it is cooked (very fast cooking process, less than 5 minutes). Drizzle with sesame seed if you like

    Cook the chicken in batches

    Cook the chicken in batches

  9. Serve hot with leaves wrap and hot steam rice
I loved it because I could put more vegetables than meat and no one complained............

I loved it because I could put more vegetables than meat and no one complained…………

I gave five stars for this recipe. Totally good!!! I had some leftover for breakfast, and daddy said he didn’t want to share with the lil boy, hahaha……………but I made them shared because I was too lazy to cook other thing for breakfast. I took the original recipe based on this website and did some modification. I used chicken instead of beef and put many vegetables inside. I love love love this recipe because it was a very easy one pot dish that already included meat and vegetables at the same time.

Our super delicious healthy lunch

Our super delicious healthy lunch. I added my mom’s cucumber pickles and chili sauce

And what I did with the remaining marinade sauce? First, I boiled some and just ate it with hot steam rice. The remaining sauce I used to stir fry vegetables which daddy said sooooo yummy…………..

 

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

