Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

My Travel Wish

4 Comments

Agatha Christie has been one of my favorite author since I was in high school. I love reading all her books back then. Now, living in a country where public libraries are everywhere with the full collection of Agatha Christie’s books, I felt like I was finding my old memories back and reading those books again was like therapeutic for me in the busy and stressful day. The problem is, all those books are now in English (of course…………) and sometimes it is so hard for me to finished those thick and heavy books with small words printed on every page. It was easier to read the book in my own mother tongue language than in English, plus sometimes I don’t have enough time to read books nowadays, or watching movie is more interesting than reading books.

Until I found out that there is a TV serial called Hercule Poirot with David Suchet as the main actor. Suchet is so far my favorite Poirot. He is exactly fit my imagination as Poirot since the first time I read Agatha Christie’s books. I also like Captain Hastings, Inspector Japp, and Miss Lemon as Poirot’s secretary. They all just like what I expected in the movie, although the character of Miss Lemon is very different than what Christie described in the books, but still……I like Miss Lemon in the TV better than in the book.

Japp, Poirot, Hastings. Picture taken from here

Unfortunately for me, this serial was UK and not US Production, so really not easy to find everywhere………………it happened for a long time……………..until recently I found out the serial in youtube. Free to watch, and sometimes if I’m lucky, they come with English Subtitle, and since then…….there’s no turning back for me. I am addicted to Poirot. I can not stop watching one episode to another, and I even sleep very late just to finish one episode (how can I stop before I find out who the bad person is, rite?). Watching the movie is absolutely more entertaining and fun and easier than reading the book. Although not all details can be fully covered in the movie, but the movie adds more dramatic improvisation and imagination than reading the books. Plus, there are real people and real houses in the movie, so I don’t need to imagine things that I’m not so sure since I’m not living in the same year as Christie’s

One thing that I really like from Christie’s books are the description of places and people. She lived in an old era of England where things were really different from the modern world that we live now. I like how she described the old brick houses, the castles where rich people lived, the old and quiet streets, the peaceful and calm villages, big houses overlooking the seas, big gardens with beautiful flowers, the woods in the villages, places that the main characters visited around the world, the people with formal clothes and beautiful dresses and hats……………..I just love love and love everything.

Then I started seeing the movie……………………..and I just can’t stop saying “ooohhhhhhh” and “aaahhhhhh”. The shooting locations were magnificent. I like the big houses with big yards and gardens overlooking the mountains or the seas the most. Everything was beautiful especially the villages. So calm and peaceful with beautiful views……………but there was always evil in those places that made them more mysterious.

Look at some of the filming locations. Aren’t they just pretty? It looks like that the crews were using different kind of locations in every movie, so there are many new things that I see in every episode.

From the movie "The Cornish Mystery in Dunster, West Somerset. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/cornishmystery.htm            

So lovely………..From the movie “The Cornish Mystery” in Dunster, West Somerset. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/cornishmystery.htm

From the movie "The Incredible Theft" in Tilford & Frensham, Surrey. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/incredtheft2.htm

Breathtaking view…………..From the movie “The Incredible Theft” in Tilford & Frensham, Surrey. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/incredtheft2.htm

From the movie "Cat Among The Pigeons". Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/catpigeons.htm

Old castle with wonderful view. From the movie “Cat Among The Pigeons”. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/catpigeons.htm

From the movie "After The Funeral" in ROTHERFIELD PARK, HAMPSHIRE. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/afterfuneral.htm

How grand it is! From the movie “After The Funeral” in ROTHERFIELD PARK, HAMPSHIRE. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/afterfuneral.htm

This train station is so pretty and classic. Taken from the movie "MRS. MCGINTY'S DEAD THE BLUEBELL RAILWAY, EAST SUSSEX

This train station is so pretty and classic. Taken from the movie “MRS. MCGINTY’S DEAD” in 
THE BLUEBELL RAILWAY, EAST SUSSEX. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/mrsmcginty2.htm

Love love love the blue water. From the movie set "The Blue Train" inFRENCH RIVIERA - MENTON. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/bluetrain.htm

Love love love the blue water. From the movie set “The Mystery of the Blue Train” in FRENCH RIVIERA – MENTON. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/bluetrain.htm

I would love to stay in this place. From the movie "SAD CYPRESS" in Dorney Court, Nr. Windsor, Berks. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/sadcypress.htm

I would love to stay in this place. From the movie “SAD CYPRESS” in Dorney Court, Nr. Windsor, Berks. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/sadcypress.htm

Oh my.....what an incredible view......Taken from "Double Sin." This is located in Wra, Cumbria. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/doublesin5.htm

Oh my…..what an incredible view……Taken from “Double Sin.” This is located in Wra, Cumbria. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/doublesin5.htm

This is so old style and yet so lovely. Picture from the movie "MURDER ON THE LINKS". Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/murderlinks.htm

This is so old style and yet so lovely. Picture from the movie “MURDER ON THE LINKS”. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/murderlinks.htm

I would like to have this view in my backyard..........From the film "Dumb Witness. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/dumbwitness3.htm

I would like to have this view in my backyard……….From the film “Dumb Witness. Picture taken from http://www.tvlocations.net/dumbwitness3.htm

Look at all those beautiful places. I suddenly feel that I want to go to each place that had been using as the location for the filming. If one day I am able to go to UK, I wish could visit some of those places, although I probably have to go alone since no one in the family have this kind of Poirot attachment as me……………..

Believe me, those pictures do not do justice comparing to the real views in the movie. When I see them in the movies, there are far more beautiful. Hopefully, those places will stay the same and will not turn into more modern styles. So this has been my travel wish recently, that is to go on the same roads and places as Hercule Poirot in the movies so I can imagine better what Agatha Christie had written in her books.

And now I will continue to watch The Theft of The Royal Ruby…………….

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

4 thoughts on “My Travel Wish

  1. Wow bagus bagus banget… Gw juga mau kesana. Hahaha.

    Gw pas kecil juga sempet suka Agatha Christie tp gak lama trus kok bosen ya. Hehehe.

    • Kalo liat di filmya lebih wow lagi viewnya. Iya, buku2 sama filmnya emang kadang ngebosenin kok, kadang gua juga fast forward lgs ke blkg, hahaha…… trs baru baca atau nonton lgi bgn tengahnya. Tapi filmnya lumayan kok

  2. wahhh… sama dongg… aku juga suka agatha christie….! Tapi biasanya aku milih…. kalo tokoh utamanya si miss marpel biasanya aku gak mau baca. Aku suka yang tokohnya Hercule Poirot. Iya foto diatas mirip banget sama gambarannya si Poirot . Kayaknya gak bosen – bosen kalo baca bukunya si agatha. Aku mulai baca itu waktu SMP buku yang pertama kali baca itu judulnya 10 orang negro, itu karena dipinjemin sama temen. Sejak itu jadi mulai suka sama si agatha christie sampe sekarang.

    • Kita ke England bareng yuk kalo gitu, hahahaha…….. Kalo aku semua suk, Miss Marple, Poirot, atau tokoh2 non tetap lainnya semua suka. Coba deh liat filmnya di youtube, seru lho…. kayak berasa beneran jadinya

Leave a Reply

