Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Parks and Pancakes

6 Comments

Pasir Ris Park has always been our favorite park. It’s close to where we live, has a huge playground, ideal place to cycle, ad if we’re lucky, we can still find The Uncle Ice Cream Stall near the playground on weekends. So no wonder if we don’t have plans on holidays / weekends, we always choose this place to spend the afternoon. Morning is also nice, but it can be very hot at around 10 am, so 3 pm and above is usually the perfect time.

IMG_8308

Always happy when he plays with this

IMG_8315

Now try the standing position

IMG_8342

Spinning around is fun

IMG_8344

Those kids didn’t know each other, but they play together and some of them even volunteered to spin the wheel

IMG_8328

The beach is actually not so nice, but it’s okay……

IMG_8334

Writing on the sand

Although we love Pasir Ris Park, so much, but we feel that is is not an ideal place to have picnics. For family picnics, our number one choice is still Singapore Botanic Gardens.

20150124_143018

Mats, pillow, books, toys, and food…………..and we’re ready for our picnic

Although the children’s playground is located far away from the picnic ground and we can not cycle inside here, but we still love the greenery of this park where we can put our mats on the grass and lay down while reading books or just fall asleep slowly.

We love the huge picnic space, and we usually come here by 3 pm. Although it’s a little bit hot, but we like it when this place is not too crowded by people. When it’s still quiet, we have big space to play Frisbee or ball without hitting other people. By 5 pm, this place start to full and by 6 pm when the Saturday music concert starts to play, it is even hard to move or even play. You definitely will not have many choices of where to put your mats when you come around this time.

When going out for picnics, you have to bring food…………..because the best part of picnic is eating outdoor, rite?

So although it’s a hard work, I love to prepare and cook our own food to be eaten at the picnic ground. And I don’t know why, but we eat a lot when we’re outdoor and more often than hen we’re at home. Maybe the fresh air and the open space boost our appetites.

20150124_143804

Nasi uduk, ayam panggang kecap, timun, dan sambal bawang, gak lupa nasinya ditaburin bawang goreng…………..nyam nyam nyam……..(rice in coconut milk with fried shallot, grill chicken, cucumber, and homemade chilli sauce for our picnic lunch menu)

After our late lunch, usually we just relax first because it will be too hot to play. If it’s still not too crowded, we can easily choose the best spot under the tree so it’s not too hot but also windy………truly a nice weather for our picnic.

20150124_153821

Look who fall asleep easily

IMG_8536

Our lunch would not be completed without fruit…………and since it was almost Chinese New Year, of course we had oranges…………..

20150124_151224

Play time

IMG_8562

Time to eat……again…….

Two hours after our late lunch, the two boys polished up all the pancakes that I brought. I grabbed one before everybody else because I knew if I didn’t do that than there would be nothing left for me. I made these pancakes in a hurry because just before we were about to go, they asked to bring pancakes too……….so I made 9 pancakes and I ate one and each of them shared 4 pancakes each. The lil boy’s favorite spread for pancakes is always Kraft Cream Cheese Cheddar Spread (the ones that I bought in Australia and never see this kind of spread in here).

He took a spoonful of the cheese, spread on his pancakes, and when he saw some of the cheese left on the spoon, he looked at it and would say: “and the rest (of the cheese on the spoon) goes to charity…..” I said: “huh, what charity?” and he put the spoon onto his mouth while saying: “my mouth..,” and we laughed together…………..

IMG_8571

Comfortable mat, pancake, and Roald Dahl book…………what a perfect combination……

20150124_160830

And play again…………and by the way, we still had dinner after those pancakes………and big portions too……

Lake

Peaceful walk near the lake

IMG_8606

No slides…………it’s okay……….the children can have fun sliding anywhere…….

IMG_8611

The concert was ready to begin

IMG_8626

Very crowded at around 6 pm……and more people came when we were on the way out from the picnic area

After my failures of making pancakes (the first one was not even edible and the second one was BLEAGH….), I finally found the perfect recipe and made good pancakes since then. The most important point is that everyone in the house LOVES my pancakes so much and they keep asking me to make pancakes again and again (hi five to myself for this…..)

The key is in using real buttermilk which I always find easily in the supermarket. Buttermilk is a bit pricey (almost $ per carton), but from one carton of buttermilk I can make (about) 25 pancakes, so it it worth the money, especially when I compare to Mc’D hot cakes which cost almost $5 and we only get 2 small cakes and the taste is just average, or to expensive Swensen’s buttermilk pancakes which are good but the taste is just the same as mine…………..so yeah, it is worth the money. Plus, we can choose whatever toppings that we want at home.

IMG_8530

My fluffy pancakes

Once, I made pancakes for afternoon snack, and after finishing his shares (4 pancakes), he said: “You know, pancakes are supposed to be for breakfast only, not for afternoon snack…….”

I said okay, next time I’ll make for breakfast, and I added: “How about for your school snack at recess time………..it’s still considering morning too…..”

He said: “Okay, next time make pancakes for breakfast or school recess time only, ok!”

But anyway……….who can resist good and soft and smooth and fluffy pancakes………at anytime of the day…….

 

 Ingredient:

Mix in Bowl A:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

Mix in Bowl B:

  • 25 gr unsalted butter, melted, let it cool
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 40 ml plain milk

Method:

  • Make a well in the center of bowl A, and pour the ingredient in bowl B. Mix together by stirring with a fork (not too fast and not need to be very smooth. Just as long as the ingredients mix well, than it’s enough
  • Heat a non stick pan over medium heat until the pan it is really hot . Pour or scoop the batter onto the skillet. (I use 12 cm diameter pan, fit for 2 spoonful of batter each time)
  • Wait until bubbles appear on the surface, flip with the spatula, and cook until brown the other side (for about 1 minute)
IMG_8434

Morning pancakes………had to wake up at least at 5 am……….

Did I ever burn my pancakes? Oh yes, of course……………especially when I woke up at 5 am in the morning to prepare the pancakes while cooking breakfast and preparing lunch (if the boy has extra classes, he brings lunch too), while doing many other things in the kitchen, and when my eyes were not fully opened because I was still sleepy. And what did I do with the not so good pancakes? Well, since the taste was still good………I just ate them myself and continue with the next round…………..

IMG_8382

Looks who is a big fan of my pancakes…………..well, both of them are big fans……….and I must always remind myself to at least get one for myself before I serve on the table.

 

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

6 thoughts on “Parks and Pancakes

  1. aku juga suka bikin pancake…. kemaren baru bikin juga, tapi pake tepung pancake yang dalam kemasan. Udah jadi tinggal tambah telur aja. Tapi liat foto pancake diatas jadi ngiler deh….. warnanya bagus coklat rata gitu. kemaren bikin masih agak belang – belang coklatnya. Next mo coba bikin yang kaya gini ah……. by the way kalo butter milk itu apaa yaa…?? kalo di supermarket indo rasanya blon pernah liat. Susu full krim bukan ??

    • Buttermilk tuh bukan susu fullkrim, coba deh kalo di supermarket dicari di bagian keju2an dan susu dingin, katanya sih udah mulai ada kok. Atau mungkin di supermarket import gitu bisa dicoba. Sebetulnya bisa dibuat sendiri dengan mencampur susu dengan cuka/lemon, tapi aku pernah bikin rasanya kurang enak, jauh lebih enak kalo pake buttermilk langsung.

      Kalo mau bikin pancake, yang pasti harus pake non stick pan kayak teflon gitu dan jangan terlalu besar juga ukurannya supaya warna coklat pas matangnya rata, terus apinya jangan terlalu besar. Pastikan wajan udah panas waktu masukin adonan (coba cipratin air sedikit, kalau langsung mendesis tandanya udah panas). Terus tuang adonan jangan banyak2, tunggu sampai keluar gelembung2 agak banyak baru dibalik. Nah, biasanya kalo udah begini bisa bagus warna pancakenya.

      Semoga berguna ya tipsnya……

      • ohhh gitu…. coba deh besok – besok kalo ke supermarket aku cari buttermilknya. Kalo pan nya aku udah pake teflon ….. cuma gak nunggu sampe panas sih….. ! nyalain api aduk – aduk adonan bentar trus langsung di tuang. Mungkin karena itu jadi warna coklatnya kurang merata….. kaya belang – belang …he.he.he….^_^
        Thank you loh… tips nya lengkap banget . Jadi semangat pengen ke supermaket cari buttermilknya buat bikin pancake….(◦^⌣’)
        by the way aku manggilnya siapa yaaa?? aku cari cari gak ada namanya . Aku link yaa blog nya , aku masukkin reading list di blog aku ^_^

      • Hahaha…………..gak ada namanya yaaa…………….namaku Monica, emang namanya belum go public nih.
        oya, selain wajannya udah mesti panas, sebelum dibalik tunggu sampai gelembung2nya cukup banyak dulu, pasti udah coklat kalo udah bergelembung-gelembung.

  2. Ok… sip deh… ! thank you yaa monica…. tips nya ok banget nih… ^_^

Leave a Reply

