Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Almost CNY 2015

2 Comments

I can’t believe that it’s almost Chinese New Year again. CNY is probably one of the biggest celebration in Singapore, so guarantee there are many things that I will miss once the CNY is over.

IMG_8668

Those sweet Lokam (Mandarin Oranges) for some reasons (which I don’t know what) only appear one month before CNY and will be gone after CNY is over. I went to the supermarket 2 days after last year CNY and all those oranges were already gone. Mandarin orange is my favorite fruit and since I can have it once a year, I try to eat as many as I can. I always buy the cheapest one (usually also with the least attractive packaging………….but who cares, I throw away the package once I arrive at home), and so far I never find bad oranges inside. Most of them are sweet and others are not so sweet but also not so sour, so they’re okay for us. This year I buy the Pasar Lokam which cost $7.25 for 18 oranges. I had bought 5 cartons since 3 weeks ago. The lil boy doesn’t like this kind of orange, so guess who eat the most? Me of course, and number two is daddy. I will buy 2 more boxes before CNY is over.

We also cannot wait for the CNY holiday to come. Daddy’s office will be closed since Wednesday, and school will be finished at 10 am on that day………….no study at all, just the celebration. Then we will have long holidays until Sunday, and hopefully Monday we will be all fresh and ready to kick another 3 weeks before school term 1 holiday starts (oh holidays……….how we love them so much…………….).

Since daddy will not be going to office since Wednesday, I plan to skip school too so we can go out somewhere from Wednesday to Sunday.  A friend of mine, who knew that I had already bought and prepared the boy’s chinese costume commented on my idea: “But you already bought your son’s costume, don’t you want to see him wear that to school?” Then followed by a heavy sigh from me: “Yeah right, if not now, that next year I figure out the costume will be too small for him.”

Since the costume is very cute with Chinese Emperor hat that has little braided hair on the back of the hat, I want him to wear that so much………..I have a feeling that next year he probably doesn’t want to wear costume anymore because he will be in the Upper Primary League, and most of Upper Primary Students are too embarrassed to wear costumes.

Parents are also invited to see the CNY concert, but after knowing that the Primary 3 Students most likely will not be lining up as performers, I said to my friends that I probably will not come, yeah because my son will not perform so why should I come??? And then, here came another wise words from another friend: “Just come, sit at the back, and chat……..no need to watch the performance……….” So yes, I’ll come…………..to chat and socialize only, hahaha…….

On the other side, we (my friends and I) found that it is no way we are going to escape Singapore during CNY……………..because tickets and hotels are super expensive……………to everywhere and anywhere. So we’ll stay here and probably can come up with ideas of what to do during the holidays. Some places like Sentosa, River Hongbao, River Safari are completely out of the list because I believe 100 percent that we cannot stand the crowd (like what we experienced last year).

In addition, I joined Parent Volunteer (PV) to decorate a goat lantern and its’ done and already being displayed at the school. It was hard work but fun and to our surprises we could finish it in 2 days only.

Our beautiful lantern, made mostly from

Our beautiful lantern, made mostly from red hong baos. The face, the horns, and ears were made from paper plate

The tail was made from plastic cup and red hong baos

The tail was made from plastic cup and red hong baos. There were 6 parents who made this lantern, and I must say it looks fantastic……

Anyway, school is not slowing down although it’s almost CNY (but more about school later), and after the CNY holiday I believe there will be some tests too before term 1 is finished (so quick…….), so let’s enjoy and hopefully we can be fully recharge after the holiday is over.

And thank God tomorrow is Friday. It’s been an exhausting week.

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

2 thoughts on “Almost CNY 2015

  1. Gw juga suka jeruk mandarin yg kecil gini. Gampang ngupas dan makannya Hahaha. Kalo disini disebut nya cuties. Dan udah mulai musim juga skrg, bakal sampe end of summer Biasanya musim dan murah jadinya.

    Goat Lantern nya lucu banget. Kreatif tuh bikinnya. 🙂

    Enak ya cny di sana rame… Dan bakal libur juga ya…

Leave a Reply

