Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Five Dollars Weekend

2 Comments

It was Saturday morning, and I wasn’t feeling well that day. It happened since Thursday actually. First the sore throat, then followed by slight fever and cough and finally blocked nose and rainy nose. So I really didn’t want to go out on that bright Saturday. My mom has been here since Friday because I asked her to come and help me. I don’t get sick easily and I remember the last time I got sick was August 2013, yes I remember because I had to renew my passport and I came to the embassy feeling very dizzy that day. When I get sick, it usually last for days or even 2 or 3 weeks. House chores don’t really matter to me, but I need my mom to cook because I don’t like to buy outside food which I consider as not a healthy choice especially during exam weeks.

But I hated to see the lil boy stayed at home and not going out that Saturday morning, it was so not right for me. I thought he still needed some fresh air in the morning (he woke up early in the morning because he was hungry…………..). So I asked daddy to follow my mom to the wet market on foot with the boy in his bicycle. Good idea since both of them could have some exercise and exposed to the morning sun.

He then played in what he called "green banana playground" before went home

He then played in what he called “green banana playground” before went home

Then he came home and studied English for his exam, and while he was studying I browsed on the internet to find some nice places for his Saturday outings. He said he didn’t want to go and play golf that day, so I must find other alternatives. I preferred something near the house so he could be home just in time for dinner. Since my mom was here, we ate home cooked food during the weekend, yay…….awesome cause no need to argue of where to eat, what to eat, and no extra budget to dine out during the weekend.

Then I read about Pasir Ris Kids Kampong which located near to our home where the children could catch the fish in the pond or feed the animals. I already knew this place and could give daddy the right direction of how to go there because I’d seen the big signage before, but never thought of going there (I don’t know why, but we tend to go somewhere far from where we live than somewhere near…………..).

The boy was happy when I said he could catch fish and feed the animals in this place. I didn’t come with them since I still needed to rest, so I told daddy to take pictures as many as he could………………..he’s not someone who likes to take pictures, so I have to give clear instruction of this taking pictures thing.

Anyway, since I didn’t come with them, I can’t say much about this place except from what they told me.

Before they left home,I already said:

“Nanti ikannya gak usah bawa pulang ya, kasian entar juga pada mati di rumah.” Semua setuju dan ngangguk-angguk. Oke sip. 

“Return the fish to the pond, okay? The fish usually die when we bring them home.” Everybody agreed and nodded. Problem solved, I wouldn’t have had any fish to take care of when the boy came home.

This was their story when they came home. It turned out, that Pasir Ris Kids Kampong was already closed!

I was confused, but then they told me that it is already changed into Pasir Ris Mainland Tropical Fish Farm. So no more feeding station, pet station, and sea creatures discovery station, but you can still do longkang fishing ( and probably prawn fishing too). Could the boy still catch the fish? Thankfully………………yes!!!

20141011_131916

“Why is it so difficult to catch this small fish???”

20141011_132544

“Ok, I’ll move there, maybe the fish over there is easier to catch.”

20141011_132647

“Come here little fish, come to my net……………”

20141011_133836

“I can only get one fish. So……???”

20141011_135537

“Lucky me………..the owner of this place gave me more fish from his tank………..”

I asked daddy how much he paid for the fishing? He said 4 dollars. Woa……..very cheap weekend…………I thought. Daddy said plus one dollar for the fish food. Well, ok, I’ll still consider its cheap.

20141011_135145

Feeding the fish is always fun

20141011_135231

He’s always happy when the fish fighting each other to eat the food he had thrown to the pond

There was a sign of chickens, but he said he couldn’t find any chickens there.

20141011_135320

The boy said: “I couldn’t find any chickens there, but my instinct told me there were many chickens on the back………..”

When he came home and I opened the door, I saw him with his biggest smile in front of the door and a big plastic bag in one hand contained of fish! !! Sigh…………….lucky me, my mom took over the job to take care of the fish………….

He couldn’t stop telling stories of what he did there and how much he had fun at that place.

Me: “Seneng gak dia tadi?” (did he have fun fun?)

Daddy: “Iyalah, main air, tangkep ikan, lari-lari……..senenglah pasti….” (of course……………..)

Glad that someone was having fun that Saturday with just $5………………

20141011_143051

He couldn’t stop giving food to the fish whenever he went to the kitchen………….

Pasir Ris Mainland Tropical Fish Farm is located at  No. 11, Pasir Ris Farmway 1, Aqua Fauna Center. 

 

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

2 thoughts on “Five Dollars Weekend

  1. mau happy emang gak perlu mahal2 ya🙂

Leave a Reply

