Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Alive Museum Singapore

4 Comments

IMG_5198

We love PSLE (Primary School Leaving Examination), because it means we will get extra holidays……………errr…..but I know I won’t be saying this when the boy is finally in Primary 6………..but for now, let’s just enjoy the holidays! So last week, the boy got 2 achool holidays because of PSLE and it was on Thursday and Friday, and we went to Alive Museum on Friday.

This is the background of the story: The boy had been asking me over and over again to taken him to Trick Eye Museum in Sentosa. I said I don’t really want to go on weekends as it can be very crowded and will not be very convenient for us to take pictures with so many eyes watching us. For those of you who do not know what is Trick Eye Museum…………well, here’s the definition:

Trick Eye is short for ‘Trick of the eye’, which refers to an art technique that turns two-dimensional paintings into three-dimensional images through the use of optical illusions. With that, 2D paintings on the museum walls, floors and ceilings appear to pop out of the surface and come to life. Visitors are more than welcome to explore the various themed galleries with their eyes, hands and even cameras. Step inside the paintings to complete a visual narrative with your creative poses, and watch a “tricky” story unfold before your camera.

The definition is taken from Trick Eye Museum website……..simply because I’m too lazy to think and write my own words about this museum………….so when you’re in Trick Eye Museum, all you want to do is pose and taking pictures, pose and taking pictures, and repeat again until you reach the exit door.

Alive Museum is almost the same as that (I said almost because I’ve never been to Trick Eye Museum, so can not do the comparison correctly). Alive Museum describes itself as an Illusionary Entertainment Museum and it was originated from Korea (frankly speaking, I didn’t even know that there is such thing like Alive Museum in Korea).

Well, if you’re still confused (just like me at the first time), just look at the pictures below.

Alive Museum

Do you see how this 2D pictures becomes alive and make a beautiful 3D art when one or even more than one person join in the fun and take pictures together?

Basically, you just have to look at the photo samples, do as exactly in the pictures or create your own crazy poses, then make sure the one who is taking pictures is standing in the pink sign “photo point”, and voila…………..it will become like this:

DSC03526

Is he scrubbing or tickling her feet…..??? Can you guess???

Well, if you know how to pose and take pictures correctly, than you’ll get wonderful pictures and it will feel like you’re joining the pictures. It needs patience and sometimes you need to take pictures more than one time.

Luckily, when we went on Friday morning (the museum open from 10 am to 10 pm and we arrived few minutes after 10 am), there wasn’t many people inside (clap clap clap for myself for choosing the right time to visit this museum……). So we could explore and took photos as many times as we wanted and even came back to some spots when we found out that we didn’t satisfy enough with the end results.

Ballet Dance

Who pose better and more natural? Me or the boy???

So, when the boy kept saying that he wanted to go to Trick Eye Museum, I said that I didn’t want to drive all by myself (without daddy) to Sentosa. To make the story clearer, I’m not used to drive in long distance in Singapore without my husband sitting beside me. I’m not really familiar with the roads, the GPS,  the tunnel, etc…….But it was holiday and my husband was on business trip and he left the car at home so I thought why not using the car to Suntec City (Alive Museum in located in Suntec City Mall Level 3 by the way) instead of taking the MRT.

Well, I actually drove the car with the boy only to Science Centre few days before (because it was holiday and daddy was also on business trip, and being at home on school holidays will make the two us us go crazy, so I challenged myself to drive to Science Center in Jurong East which is one hour drive from where we live (very far and tiring for me actually).

In the car, the boy cheered me up and said: “Kalau mama bisa ke Jurong East, PASTI bisa deh ke Suntec……………!” (Mama, if you can drive to Jurong East, then you CAN drive to Suntec…………..). Then again, Suntec is in the middle of the city and it’s definitely a different route and although nearer but more difficult for me. This time, I brought my dad who was visiting us to go to Alive Museum. Thank God we arrived safely and went home safely too.

Marylin

Blow Ms. Marilyn (Monroe) skirt……………It was fun and he almost couldn’t stop doing it…………

Ticket price was $25 for adult and $20 for children, but you can get 20% discount if you book online via the website  http://alivemuseum.sg/

There is no toilet inside the museum and there is no re-entry, so make sure you go to toilet before entering the museum.

DSC03556

Whatttt!!!! No toilet?????Seriously…………….but no worry……..it’s not as big as we thought and if it wasn’t crowded at all like our last visit, you might only need 1 to 2 hours inside the museum.

Seriously, we were surprised to see that the museum wasn’t as big as we thought……………..so disappointed when we finally reached the exit door…………………and ehmmmmmmm…….we actually hoped for more things to see with the amount of money that we already paid……………….

But after all, it was a fun experience for us and we did enjoy the museum.

Circus

Yaaayyyyy………..we’re in the circus….!!! It was my childhood dream and (although I’m not sure………….) probably my boy’s dream too……….

I have tons of failed pictures (mostly blur or the expressions or the poses weren’t just right when we saw the final outcome), but for this I can only blame the photographers (a.k.a the three of us) and the models. The little one was quite upset when we told him to pose like this or like that, so he said: “You said I can pose like whatever I want…………..”

I did say that, but sometimes the final results were…………..you know…………..but whatever………….I showed him some of the results and for some pictures, he agreed to pose again and retake the pictures.

DSC03549

Still in good mood

For someone who doesn’t really like to pose in front of the camera, at least the boy’s cooperation amazed me……….well, we are in Alive Museum and if we didn’t take pictures, than what else could we do……..???

DSC03572

Surprisingly, my dad was also very cooperative and willing to give his best shot in front of the camera…………..and even busy taking pictures with his new phone………that was just WOW….!!!

DSC03576

One of my favorite picture………………the boy looks so natural, doesn’t he……???

DSC03617

Eeeeuuuuwww…………….! By the way, I took this picture from the wrong position because I can still see the photo point sign behind the boy………….it was because when the boy already pose in one position, he didn’t want to move, hahaha…………Look at his facial expression, so true isn’t it???

Inside the museum was also very comfortable because there was a tolerable distance between one exhibit to another for people to take pictures (except for few 2D pictures that were close to one another), but overall we got enough space to express ourselves without worry that we might bump to another visitors. Then again, it was not very crowded that day.

Alive Museum

Trying to save the city……………..

DSC03682

Little Warrior Prince. Definitely love this one. Pssst…….he actually just needed to lay on the floor and I just needed to rotate the picture to make this pose. Now you know the secret………..

And now, since I don’t have anything else to say, let us just enjoy these pictures:

IMG_5115

I don’t know why, but I just love this (look alike) paper boat. So simple yet beautiful and meaningful for me………..

IMG_5132

If you keep playing ping pong (table tennis) like that, you can’t be a champion…………

DSC03651

I also love this one………..so simple but elegant. Imagine if we really have wings (I said to my boy), then we will become…………………Maleficent…………..hahaha…………

DSC03654

If you want to know the trick……just rotate the picture………..

DSC03676

I don;t think his face will be as calm as this if he is in the real situation……………

This one is really funny. People are asked to list down their wish before they die (just a funny game, don’t take it seriously), and the boy wrote that  he wants:

Sports Car

A Sport Car………hahahaha……………he laughed after he wrote this. I have no idea why he wrote this because he never talked about having a sport car before.

DSC03679

Why I always think of Marie Antoinette when I look at this? By the way, did she die on a guillotine???

DSC03541

Hmmm…..and I wonder how it feels to be the real king?

Aquarium

My super cute mermaid

IMG_5133

Big and small………..”I want to be the big one,” the boy said

IMG_5170

The boy said: “I’m saving the penguins”

Instead of just being a photographer, I finally decided that I wanted to pose too……….! So I asked the boy and my dad to take my pictures together (just in case one of the failed to take good pictures, I still have back ups, hahaha…….).

IMG_5174

Ouch…….the boy missed to take picture of the balloons on top of the house. This is taken from the movie “UP” 

20140815_112540

Why oh why…………..my facial expression is almost the same in every picture?

Merlion

This Merlion statue has many functions: you can wash your hair under it or just drink water from it. You choose………!

 

20140815_110110

Why Batman is so scary in this picture? It’s Batman, isn’t it?

DSC03567

Basically, you can pose like “whatever you want…….”

DSC03628

This is what we call Digital Art. The Marylin Monroe exhibit is also a Digital Art

DSC03615

Who is it? Is it Hulk or Frankenstein? My guess is Hulk…………..

If you happen to be around the museum and you don’t want to enter, then you can just take pictures in front of the museum. There are also some interesting stuff there just like this:

IMG_5201

Freezing cold……………

20140815_115428

Playing in the sand………….

Hungry after making so many crazy poses? Well, don’t worry…………there are many restaurants nearby. We ate in Kopitiam Foodcourt and the food was good and quite different from other Kopitiam. You should try eating here as it has different varieties and the taste was also yummy.

We will definitely go to Trick Eye Museum ( I don’t know when) and will absolutely give complete report and fair comparison after our visit. Stay tune…..!!!

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

4 thoughts on “Alive Museum Singapore

  1. hihihi lucu ya alive museum ini… seru banget buat poto2an..😀

  2. haha.. udah dari sejak buka pengen kesini. tapi ga mau desek2an plus rebutan foto sama khalayak ramai pas weekend, dan ga rela juga ambil cuti. jadi ya.. tunggu kesempatan deh, hehehe..

    • Emang paling males kalo ke sini tuh kalo lagi rame, bukannya apa sih, tapi gak pede foto-foto sambil diliatin banyak orang, hahaha………..
      Etapi kata temenku yang ke sini pas weekend, dia bilang datengnya sebelum museum buka udah antri dan beli tiket, nah pas begitu buka langsung masuk deh, masih sepi kok katanya, agak siangan dikit barulah rame banget. Mungkin bisa dicoba trik ini.

Leave a Reply

