Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Crazy For Books

6 Comments

We are book lovers. Everybody in the family likes to read. So when we moved to Singapore where libraries are very easy to find with superb book collections, we were very happy. Visiting library (usually once a week) has been in our agenda for the past two years. In school holiday, the library always double our chance to borrow book…………….so you can imagine how many books that we bring home on school holiday. When we get double chance to borrow books, we can go home with up to 52 books (we have 3 library membership).

The boy’s favorite books are (still) Geronimo Stilton books. Although there are many Stilton’s books in the library, the chance to borrow these books can be very low because as the boy always says: “These are popular books. Every child in Singapore likes to read Geronimo Stilton.” And of course one can not hope too much for the complete Geronimo Stilton collections in the public library, am I rite???

So we were very excited when we heard about Popular Book Sale in Changi Expo. Almost all books were on sale up to 50%. If we bought 5ย or more English books, we would get 50% discount. And seriously, it was for real. I only paid 50% from the normal price at the book store. So we turned into book hunters for 2 days.

Actually, this book sale happened last February 2014 (I know, it’s a late post, but maybe you can prepare for next year’s event……..if there is any next year event).

We let the boy chose almostย 10 Geronimo Stilton books as long as he promised that he would not buy anymore books for one year. The promise were already broke……………..by the parents, hahaha……………..we let him bought 2 or 3 Stilton books after that. Well, he never asks for toys anymore since he could read, he only asks for books and more books, so I think why not giving him those books.

IMG_1772

Can you believe all were 50% sale?

Popular Sale

I also bought 2 books for my nieces (the bible and early readers). I bought the dinosaurs book (full color, thick paper, almost 400 pages) for only S$10. Good bargain and the boy likes the book so much because he likes to know all things about dinosaurs

At first, we were quite hesitant to buy so many books, but then daddy saw a father with one daughter did this

IMG_1776

The anonymous father stacked Geronimo Stilton books in his hand for as many as he could, and he still said to his daughter: ” What else? Take more………” And it raised daddy’s competitive side and he suddenly said: “Take everything that you don’t have. We’ll buy them all.” And I was like: “What? Wait a minute……we couldn’t let him buy that many books”

DSC09051

Second day…….ended up with 7 books

Book Sale

Wowwww…………look at all these books………

Recently, his teacher said that the boy had already borrowed too many Stilton books from the library, so she suggested that the boy chose another books to borrow, hahaha………..

And by the way, from the reading department………….after I’ve tried so many times to make the boy likes Enid Blyton’s books (as I used to when I was a kid), he finally starts to like Blyton’s books. Yaaaaayyyyyyy…………I’m so happy! I’ve tried to borrow many books from Enid Blyton, but so far he only likes “The Five Find Outer Series”. Yes, those were my favorite too, and guess what…………I still like to read those books too now. So we borrow the books from the libraries, we read together, and we even discuss parts of the book together. How awesome is that! He is just like me, he likes mystery books too, and Enid Blyton is absolutely one of the best mystery books writer for children. Too bad we can only find a few of The Five Find Outer collection in the libraries, and it’s not easy to find in the book shops too. Famous Five is easier to find than the Five Find Outer, but my son haven’t liked Famous Five yet.

Enid Blyton

The Five Find Outer consisted of 5 kids (Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, and little Bets) who lived in a quiet small village in England. Fatty had a dog named Buster. Together they solved many difficult mysteries. The local police (Mr.Goon) never liked them and the children always made fun of him. The interaction between Mr.Goon and the children always created funny and entertaining situation

IMG_3469

There are some difficult words in that he never heard before when reading Enid Blyton’s books, but I’m glad he learn new things and try to find out the meaning

 

 

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

6 thoughts on “Crazy For Books

  1. wah asik banget tuh buku2nya diskon gede…๐Ÿ˜€
    kalap pasti belinya ya hahaa

  2. That’s nice!
    This reminds me of Barney’s Song, Books Are Fun! Books Are Great!

    Best Regards,
    Fairy Maiden

    • Yes, the old Barney song………..I don’t think my son will still remember that song, he watched Barney more than 5 years ago, but the words in the song are truly everlasting.

  3. woah.. enid blyton is my fave author too! *hi-five*

    btw, mungkin itu si ‘anonymous father’ belanja banyak buku buat kulakan kali.. abis borong dijual lagi, hahaha.. :p

    • Hahaha…..iya barangkali ya, kayaknya lain kali boleh nih dibisnisin kalau ada pameran buku lagi…………
      Etapi, anak2 jaman sekarang udah pada mulai gak kenal lagi nih sama buku2 Enid Blyton, soalnya nyari di toko buku serinya juga udah gak lengkap lho, memang jaman udah berubah nih kayaknya diganti buku2 komik yang gak jelas gitu sekarang………..sayang banget sih sebetulnya.

Leave a Reply

