Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Me and My Messy Kitchen (Including Recipe of “Nasi Tim Ayam”)

Leave a comment

I love cooking. In fact, I like cooking more than cleaning up the house. I cook almost everyday. The presentation of the food is not my priority all this time, as long as it’s healthy and edible and everybody enjoys it……………..it’s fine with me.

Although I cook almost everyday, it doesn’t mean that I always produce good and delicious food. There were times that the food tasted not so good that nobody wanted to eat it except me (I had to because I hate throwing up food to my dust bin, especially after I spent hours in the kitchen making that dish). There were also times that the dish tasted so awful that I willingly threw everything in the dust bin. Another time, it tasted very delicious (according to us) that I didn’t get to eat at all. The third time is the happiest time for me.

For example, this chocolate sauce was a disaster. I followed the recipe from the internet and it turned out that the recipe was wrong. I realized only when I finished making super thick and sticky chocolate sauce (too much corn starch was the problem). I had to make some adjustment because I didn’t want to throw the sauce and waste the milk and chocolate. So I had to strain, add water, strain again, add milk, strain again, and repeat again for many times. Finally, it was edible to eat although I didn’t get the thickness that I wanted. At least, this can still be eaten with pancakes or ice cream

This chocolate sauce was a disaster.

It actually tasted good after some adjustment, but I promised myself not to try making this again for a very long time………………

Then one day, out of the blue I was tempted to make pancakes (because we love pancakes and I thought it was going to be easy just to make pancakes). I made pancakes before (twice) and they failed miserably………..

Don't get fooled by the look of these fluffy pancakes, they tasted terrible.

Don’t get fooled by the look of these fluffy pancakes, they tasted terrible. The boy tried hard to swallow his first bite so I won’t be disappointed because he knew I woke up early in the morning to make these pancakes. Well, I threw away everything finally and decided to eat:

Swensen's pancakes

Swensen’s pancakes

And everybody was happy and full at the end. Good ending, rite???

And everybody was happy and full at the end. Good ending, rite???

The problem was when I tried to make buttermilk by adding vinegar to the milk. I felt that I already followed the recipe correctly but it turned out that the milk, and thus the pancakes, tasted very sour. So the pancakes went straight to the dustbin.

I didn't give up. I tried another recipe and it went quite well. At least all the pancakes were gone into everybody's tummy at breakfast. I'm not satisfy with the result, the taste of eggs was quite strong

I didn’t give up. I tried another recipe and it went quite well. The pancakes were fluffy, well at least all the pancakes were gone into everybody’s tummy at breakfast. I’m still not satisfy with the result, because the taste of eggs was quite strong which is unlike other pancakes in the restaurant. So next time we want pancakes…………just go to Mc Donalds or Swensen’s………easier, right?

By the way, these are my pancakes making equipment

By the way, these are my pancakes making equipment. This is how I make pancakes. Small pan and small spatula which are suitable for small pancakes size

Then again, all of a sudden the boy asked for mozzarella cheese stick. Hey, mozzarella cheese stick is expensive, ya know………

So I said: “Let’s make this at home.”

Wrong decision………..!!!

We had fun making mozzarella cheese stick together

We had fun making mozzarella cheese stick together

He's like a pro.......using two hands to to coat the cheese with flour

He’s like a pro…….using two hands to coat the cheese with flour

He was happy to help me, so I didn't mind cleaning up the kitchen. The coated mozzarella cheese was now ready to go to freezer

He was happy to help me, so I didn’t mind cleaning up the kitchen. The coated mozzarella cheese was now ready to go to freezer

The end product………………was a disaster! The coated cheese wasn’t cold enough when I fried it so it melted on my pan. So the cheese was separated from the crumbs, but amazingly the boy still said it was good and finished everything. The second attempt was so much better, at least 80% was in good condition and everything was edible…….but the taste wasn’t as good as the one in the restaurant.The worst part was: to clean all the cheese that stick onto my pan when it melted!

So next time he wants fried mozzarella cheese stick………………..I”ll say let’s just buy them in the restaurant!

Not all things went bad. Some were good although not perfect.

This crispy cheese puff (kue sus kering keju) is one of the boy's favorite snack. It takes time to make this puff, especially because my oven is rather small and I had to bake 3 times for each cake pan in order to get crispy puff that can last for days

This crispy cheese puff (kue sus kering keju) is one of the boy’s favorite snack. It takes time to make this puff, especially because my oven is rather small and I had to bake 3 times for each cake pan in order to get crispy puff that can last for days. So if I need 3 cake pans, it means I have to bake 9 times

The problem is.........although they actually taste good, but the shapes are not as good as the taste. I still have to learn and practice to make good and almost identical shape for every puff that I make

The problem is………although they actually taste good, but the shapes are not as good as the taste. I still have to learn and practice to make good and almost identical shape for every puff that I make. Yeah, imagine the electricity bill at the end of the month…………

The good point is, the boy never really cares about the shapes. The puffs are delicious and he always eats almost all the puffs that I make

The good point is, the boy never really cares about the shapes. The puffs are delicious and he always eats almost all the puffs that I make. See…………..food presentation is not that important to him……

This usually was not the kind of dessert that I would make, considering the boy didn’t have sweet tooth, especially to chocolate. Surprisingly, as he grows up, he starts to like sweet dessert such as this green and chocolate pudding. I only added little chocolate so the taste of chocolate wouldn’t be so strong, and he liked it. I didn’t make the sauce because it would be too sweet and nobody in the house would like it

My first chocolate agar-agar with vanilla milk and green agar-agar with plain milk.

My first chocolate agar-agar with vanilla milk and green agar-agar with plain milk. Pssst……actually, the bottom layer of the pudding didn’t stick well to the above pudding, we found out when we cut the pudding. But anyway, it’s still nice, isn’t it?

Look who lends a helping hand

Look who lends a helping hand…………………this is one of his favorite job in the kitchen. I started to encourage him to use real kitchen knife in simple and easy thing as this: cutting the pudding. He usually would say: “Hei, I’m only 7, I can’t use the knife, it’s dangerous.” But I watched the kids in Junior Master Chef used knives all the time and they were OK, so I thought why not teaching him how to use the knife in a safe and simple way

Next, what was wrong with this dish?

After years, I finally made zuppa soup again. I found instant pastry in the supermarket and decided to try this new brand that I've never before (Pampas). The taste turned out good..........

After years, I finally made zuppa soup again. I found instant pastry in the supermarket and decided to try this new brand that I’ve never heard before (Pampas). The taste turned out good……….

Zuppa soup is one of his favorite food. From what I read, it is absolutely not originated from Italy and you can't never find this food in Italy (because a lot of people think it's from Italy). I never see this kind of creation too in Singapore. Maybe it was created by Indonesian people (who knows.....???)

Zuppa soup is one of his favorite food. From what I read, it is absolutely not originated from Italy and you can’t never find this food in Italy (because a lot of people think it’s from Italy). I never see this kind of creation too in Singapore. Maybe it was created by Indonesian people (who knows…..???)

The problem was, the inside of the pastry wasn’t as crispy as the outside. Maybe I should have rolled it thinner. But this is also the problem that I see mostly in the restaurants that serve Zuppa Soup. The boy finished everything though.

After I wrote about many unsuccessful dish that I’ve made, I will close this post with our favorite Nasi Tim Ayam that I’ve successfully made from time to time. I don’t know how to translate this, probably Steam Chicken Rice or Claypot Chicken Rice. This is very easy to make but needs lots of washing before and after the cooking process. We love this because of the combination of the flavor (sweet but also savory), yummy and delicious chicken soup that accompany the rice, and the soft rice and super tender chicken that makes this dish suitable for breakfast (it’s very common in Indonesia to have breakfast with this), lunch, or even dinner. I used to bring this to picnic too. Even when you’re not feeling well, this is the perfect dish for you because it is easy to chew and swallow, and the chicken soup will boost your energy and help you fighting the flu.

IMG_3458

Perfect rice must be soft but the texture is absolutely not like porridge. My son hates eating porridge, so this soft rice is suitable for him and one of his favorite

Nasi Tim Ayam for 4 portions:

How to make the chicken broth from kampong chicken (ayam kampung):

  1. Take out the chicken feet and claw, wings, neck and head, or use chicken bones (from 2 chickens)
  2. Boil water in a large stock pot (about 2 liter) with 5 crushed garlic, large onion (slice), 8 onion stalks cut into 5 cm, 1 carrot cut into 4, and 1 thumb ginger (slice)
  3. Put the chicken chicken feet, etc into the pot and cook in low heat (usually needs 3 to 4 hours). Bring to boil with medium heat after 3 or 4 hours (depending on how low is the heat)
  4. Turn off the heat, let everything stay in the stock pot for at least 1 hour
  5. Remove the chicken and strain the stock

How to make chicken and mushroom in soy sauce:

Ingredients:

  1. Take the chicken breast and thigh from 1 chicken kampong, cut into small pieces
  2. 150 any kind of mushroom that you like
  3. 8 cloves of garlic (minced)
  4. 3 shallots (minced)
  5. 8 celery (minced)
  6. 1 tbsp sweet soy sauce, 1 tsp oyster sauce, 1 tsp fish sauce, 1 tbsp soy sauce, 1 tsp ang ciu (optional)
  7. Chicken stock

How to make

  1. In a  large non sticking pan, add 1 tsp of oil / butter
  2. After the oil is hot, add cloves and garlic and stir fry until fragrant
  3. Add the chicken, stir fry until the color turns into white
  4. Add sweet soy sauce, etc. Taste and add the sauce to your liking. I usually add more sweet soy sauce
  5. Add chicken stock (about 100 ml) and cook until the chicken is tender
  6. Add the mushroom
  7. The chicken and mushroom must be watery because we will use the water/soup to cook the rice. So add more water if necessary. We need about 20 tbsp of soup from the chicken and mushroom
  8. Turn of the heat, add the minced salary and mixed well

How to cook the rice:

Ingredient:

  1. Wash white rice for 4 portions
  2. 8 garlic (minced)
  3. 5 shallots (minced)
  4. A pinch of salt

How too cook:

  1. In a large pan, heat 1 tsp of oil
  2. Add garlic and shallots and stir fry until fragrant (use only medium heat)
  3. Add the rice, stir fry for about 3 minutes
  4. Add 5 tbsp of chicken broth and 1/2 tsp of salt. Keep stir fry the rice for another 3 minutes
  5. Add all the soup from the chicken mushroom. Stir fry so the bottom of the pan will not burn. Cook until all the water is absorbed by the rice
  6. In this step, you have to check whether the rice is cooked enough and ready to be put into the steamer or not. I usually still have to add more chicken broth to cook the rice until it is quite soft but actually still not ready to be eaten

How to make steam chicken and mushroom rice (nasi tim ayam):

  1. Prepare the steamer, bring the water to boil
  2. Meanwhile, prepare 4 small pot to cook the rice
  3. Fill 1/4 pot with chicken and mushroom
  4. Add rice until 3/4 pot
  5. Full the pot with chicken broth
  6. Cook in the steamer until well cooked
  7. I add 1 tbsp chicken broth (2 or 3 times) during the steaming process so the top of the rice won’t get dry
  8. Turn off the heat once it’s cooked, take out the pot, and let it cool for few minutes
  9. Turn the rice upside down in a plate so the chicken and mushroom will be on top of the rice
  10. Serve hot with chicken soup
  11. To make the soup: bring to boil the stock in a smaller pot and add salt (to taste), a pinch of sugar, fried shallots or fried minced garlic, and minced salary. Add the shallot/garlic and celery only when you already turn off the heat
Daddy also likes this very much.

Daddy also likes this very much. Once you cook the broth correctly, it will turn into yummy and delicious chicken soup, or like the boy always says: “The soup is tasty……”

It might sound easy

It might sound easy, but actually I sometimes fail in making this dish too. Usually because the rice is not soft enough or too dry or the combination of the flavor is not good enough

So, enjoy the food and I will go making steam fish for dinner.

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

