Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

The Lego Movie

2 Comments

First of all, this is not a movie review. I am not a movie reviewer and I am not going to be one simply because of two reasons. First, I’m too lazy writing movie synopsis that everyone can easily find all over the internet. Second, my opinion never matters in the family. You see, the three of us like different kind of movies. When I said Planes The Movie was boring, the boy said it was one of the best movie he had ever watched. I hate Pacific Rim (sorry for the fans), but daddy said it was hilarious and a must watch movie, so he watched it alone. I wanted to watch Les Miserables, but everyone gave me a strange look . See, we never listen and even believe each other when we review movies.

So, when the Lego Movie was finally showing in theaters, daddy asked the boy if he wanted to watch it. Being a big fan of all cartoon movies (seriously, I think my son thinks that every cartoon movie he watches in the theaters are incredibly good, he can’t even choose which is the best, everything is the best according to him…….), of course he said he wanted to go as soon as possible.

There was a promotion going on in Cathay Cineplex, buy one ticket and you’ll get one ticket free on Sunday. There were three of us, so I had a very brilliant idea that came to my mind right away. I said: “For cost efficiency, since it’s a buy one get one ticket and there are three of us, why don’t you go watch the movie with daddy while I do some shopping or stay at home doing blah blah blah……….”. I could imagine at least 2 hours extra me time for me…….

Too bad nobody thought it was brilliant. They insisted that mommy should come too (I even threw the idea again “in the name of cost efficiency” just before daddy stepped out of the house to buy tickets in the morning, but it didn’t work). And so that was the story how I ended up in row F seat number 7 on Sunday afternoon. Don’t get me wrong, I love going out with my family and even accompany my son to watch his favorite movies…….but sometimes I get tired for watching too many cartoon movies. Thank God Law and Order The Original Series are still running in my TV almost everyday (they’re my sweet escape from cartoon movies……)

IMG_1739

Two buckets of popcorn and 3 movie tickets

Long story short, this post is not about The Lego Movie at all, but it has something to do with watching the movie.

You see, I love reading other people’s blogs and I admire some blogs so much that I really wish I had the same talent and could create awesome blogs like them. Some of my favorite blogs are the ones with hand made pictures as the illustration of the stories. Some others are bloggers who can make very short stories in most of their posts with minimum or no ย pictures at all but still very attractive to read (writing attractive short stories definitely is not my strength). Others have the ability to insert wonderful pictures and beautiful stories in their posts (I sometimes think whether it’s me, my photography techniques, or my camera that make me struggle in taking beautiful pictures). Today, we skip number two and three.

These days, I’m addictive in reading blogs with simple but awesome pictures illustration drawing by themselves (the bloggers). The stories are actually very simple and they happen in our everyday life, but I love to see all the awesome (see, I’m using this word very often now) pictures inserted in the stories that make the stories very interesting and easy to read, eye catching, and not boring at all. So in my daydream, I sometimes think of making the same thing, and that is to draw awesome pictures too in my blogs, but I can’t do that. It’s not because I’m afraid that other people will think that I’m a copycat, but it’s simply because I CAN’T DRAW. I totally suck at drawing pictures. My parents and sister are very good at drawing, and I sometimes wonder why I don’t inherit that gene…….

But I still want to have cute and funny pictures in my blog, so I asked for help…………..from someone………………in the family………….

Luckily, although the drawing talent from my parents can be found nowhere in me, but it decided to jump to the generation below me……………and that is my son……………He loves to draw almost anything and spends most of his time with paper and pen (I should post some of his drawings someday if I’m not too lazy….), and so I asked him to help me making illustrations for my blog.

Of course he said nooooo…………………..Ok, so I had to bribe him…………….

If you draw for me, maybe.....just maybe......I will buy you ice cream...???

If you draw for me, maybe…..just maybe……I will buy you ice cream…someday….???

And he said NO!

So I begged and he kept saying NO. I offered ice cream again and he said he wasn’t sure because he just had ice cream few days before and not certain if I would buy him another one in the near future ( he didn’t have to say it, I know what he thought already….).ย 

So finally, he agreed with one condition. After he draws for me, I must let him write story (anything he likes) with pictures in my blog.

Seemed fair to me, of course I agreed immediately. I mean, that is awesome. He wants to write a story with his own pictures. Deal!

So, he will be my illustrator for my next post. I made him do the drawing between his math and Chinese exercise at home. Ok, he finally didn’t do Chinese because he preferred drawing more pictures for himself than practice Chinese. It will be just simple story about what happened when we watched Lego Movie (finally, this post has a correlation with the Lego Movie……), but I’m happy because he drew for me and I finally will have some real illustrations in one of my post.

And then next, the boy will write a story too in here. Here is what happened when he wrote in my blog:

He said: "Stop, do not enter.....it's private, I get work to do.....!"

He said: “Stop, do not enter…..it’s private, I get work to do…..!”

 

 

 

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

2 thoughts on “The Lego Movie

  1. wah keren punya illustrator pribadi ya. hahaha.
    gua juga suka terkagum2 ama orang yang pinter gambar. gua juga paling gak bisa ngegambar.๐Ÿ˜›

    tentang film kartun, emang anak kecil mah gampang banget dibikin seneng. si andrew juga film kartun apa juga dia bilagn bagus. termasuk planes. padahal gua setuju ama lu, planes mah asli jelek banget. hahaha.

    kalo lego movie sih emang bagus sih….๐Ÿ˜€

    • Ilustrator pribadinya katanya gak bisa sering2 gambar, sibuk banget dia katanya, hahaha……..
      Kalo pas nonton Planes, karena udah baca review di blog elu, jadinya gua pergi ke bisokop udah gak ada ekspektasi apa-apa, dan beneran gua nyaris ketiduran berkali-kali, hehehe……

Leave a Reply

