Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Steam Fish With Sweet Soy Sauce

Leave a comment

Steam fish from Sinar Medan Restaurant (tilapia steam fish with special sauce which I don’t know what)  is always one of the boy’s favorite fish dish. I never tried to cook it by myself before because it was easy to get it from the restaurant when we were in Jakarta. Now that we live here and this kind of dish is nowhere to be found, I knew I had to try making it at home by myself.

When we went back to Jakarta and ordered this dish, I found that the sauce was too oily and if I wasn’t mistaken, I tasted the MSG in the sauce. So I felt that I really had to make it my own. I tried to find the recipe in the internet, but there was no clue at all. Has no one ever tried to cook this dish at home? I saw no resemblance of the sauce recipe too in the internet.

So, all I could do was trying to figure out what was the composition of the sauce. I just mixed this and that (based on my prediction of what I thought was in the original sauce) with the hope that if all failed, I just added some soy sauce on top of the fish………I was sure that would do well.

So, this is the result of my experiment which turned out to be surprisingly delicious………in my family’s opinions of course.

This is the recipe for one fish. If you want to make two fish dish, just double everything in the recipe.

Ingredients:

For the fish:

  1. 1 golden pomfret or grouper fish or tilapia fish, cut diagonally on both sides. Squeeze with 1 tsbp of lime juice
  2. 3 garlic, chop
  3. 1 thumbs of ginger, cut into 1 x 1 cm
  4. 2 stalk of spring onion, cut into 5 cm length
  5. 2 tbsp Chinese cooking wine (optional)
IMG_2064

The above ingredients are for 2 steam fish dish

For the sauce:

  1. 5 garlic, chop
  2. 1 tsp cooking oil
  3. 1 tsp sweet soy sauce
  4. 1/2 tsp oyster sauce
  5. 1 tbsp premium soy sauce
  6. 1 tbsp fish sauce
  7. 1 tsp sesame oil
  8. 1/2 tsp sugar
  9. 100 ml water

How too cook:

For the fish:

  1. Fill the fish stomach with chop garlic, ginger, and spring onion
  2. Add Chinese cooking wine
  3. Fill the steamer with water and let it boil
  4. Steam the fish for 10 to 15 minutes
  5. Take away all the garlic, ginger, spring onion, and all the sauce from the fish
  6. Serve the clean fish only in a plate
Stuff everything into the fish stomach before you steam the fish

Stuff everything into the fish stomach before you steam the fish

For the sauce:

  1. Heat cooking oil in a pan, fried the garlic until golden brown and crispy. Don’t burn the garlic
  2. Set aside the crispy fried garlic
  3. Mix all the remaining sauce in a bowl. Bring to boil the sauce in a pan
  4. Set aside the sauce in a bowl. Add the fried garlic
  5. Serve the fish and the sauce together or separately (I don’t like to pour the sauce onto the fish, so I usually serve the fisha nd the sauce in different plates)
The fried crispy garlic gives extra flavor to the sauce

The fried crispy garlic gives extra flavor to the sauce

Both daddy and the boy love it so much. Daddy who usually doesn’t like steam fish, said that it was so good and he liked it a lot. He got a dinner invitation in an expensive restaurant before, but he said the food tasted awful and he chose to eat dinner again at home with my steam fish, and said: “This is much much much better than the restaurant food……………” (or something like that………).

I usually serve the fish and the sauce in a separate plate. Only choose fresh fish from the market, this will make sure that the fish dish taste good

I usually serve the fish and the sauce in separate plates. Only choose fresh fish from the market, this will make sure that the fish dish tastes good

Pour the sauce all over the fish and serve with hot steam rice

Pour the sauce all over the fish and serve with hot steam rice. In this picture, I already removed the skin of the fish because steam skin fish doesn’t taste good at all. Add the sauce only after removing the skin fish

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

