Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

(Tenggiri) Fish Soup

3 Comments

Fish soup is one of daddy’s favorite food, especially Sup Ikan Batam. There are many stalls selling fish soup in Singapore, but the taste is really different and not as good as the one from Indonesia which usually uses many traditional spices. Since the boy is now also a big fan of fish soup, I tried to make another version of fish soup (besides the red snapper soup) at home that produce a different taste at all.

Daddy likes it better than the red snapper soup, but the boy still prefers the red snapper soup. I like both of them (considering I don’t like any kind of dish using fish as the main ingredient, so this must be is a big improvement for me), and I think this Tenggiri Fish Soup is very savory, fresh, and give a different taste than the usual fish soup in the restaurant. 

I don’t know whether the taste is the same as Sup Ikan Batam because I never tried it before, but daddy said it is different but still very good (it’s different, but in a positive way). I think I should use the fish fillet next time than the steak cut because it will be easier to eat. Don’t forget to always use the fish head to make delicious fish stock. I didn’t have tenggiri’s fish head, so I used white snapper head instead. 

The bets part is, the boy always chooses fish instead of chicken these days. So at night when I ask him what he wants to eat for tomorrow, whether it’s chicken or fish……he will choose fish. Thankfully he chooses the healthier kind of dish. 

Tenggiri fish is rich in protein and Omega 3 which is very good for children and the best part is……the fish taste delicious in any kind of cooking process, whether you bake, grill, deep fried (will not be my option to cook this fish), make into soup, or even stir fry with oyster sauce. 

Ingredient:

  1. 360 gr white snapper head. Squeeze with 1 tsbp of lime juice
  2. 400 gr tenggiri fish. Squeeze with 1 tsbp of lime juice
  3. 1 large onion, finely chopped
  4. 8 garlic, finely chopped
  5. 5 onion, finely chopped
  6. 2 thumb of ginger, peeled and cut 8
  7. 1 tsp cooking oil
  8. 2 L water
  9. 1 tomato, cut 8
  10. 10 spring onion, cut to 5 cm in length
  11. 10 lime leaves
  12. 2 tbsp fish sauce
  13. 1 tbsp sugar
  14. salt to taste

How to cook:

  1. Heat up the wok with cooking oil until oil is hot
  2. Add ginger, stir fry until fragrant
  3. Add ingredient number 3 to 5, stir fry until fragrant
  4. Add water and ingredient number 9 to 14, bring to boil in low heatIMG_2004
  5. Add fish, cook with low heat until the fish is cooked throughIMG_2006
  6. Separate the fish from the soup. Strain the fish stock/soup into another wok. Add the fish
  7. Bring to boil again
  8. Serve hot with fried onion and finely chopped celery and hot steam rice

IMG_2014

IMG_2009

 

 

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

3 thoughts on “(Tenggiri) Fish Soup

  1. the fish soup looks tasty!
    may I know where you usually buy the tenggiri fish?

Leave a Reply

