Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

(Red Snapper) Fish Soup

Leave a comment

In order to serve healthier food in our dining table, I started to cook fish more than chicken or red meat. This means, I have to search for new recipes using fish as the main ingredient. It should be easy if both daddy and the boy like spicy food, but since both of them do not like anything spicy, I must try to find fish dish that uses no chili at all. Many traditional Indonesian food use chili as one of the main ingredient because it will reduce the fishy taste and make the dish more delicious. Thankfully there are still many fish recipes than can be cooked without using chili, and one of them is this fish soup.

I found good and fresh red snapper fish in the supermarket, and decided to buy 1 big fish.  Red snapper fish is rich in protein, Omega 3, vitamins, and minerals that is very good for growing up children. The taste is also very good. There are many variations to cook this fish, but this time I chose to make it into soup.

This was the first time that I made fish soup, and surprisingly it tasted delicious, the fish stock tasted almost like the shrimp stock but much better and healthier. Since I didn’t get the recipe that I thought fit to my likeness, I combined some recipes and add some ingredient myself. It was very easy to make and very suitable to be eaten with hot steam rice.

Ingredient:

  1. 1 red snapper fish (about 700 gr), cut four. Squeeze with 1 tsbp of lime juice
  2. 1.5 tbsp blended garlic
  3. 1 tbsp blended onion
  4. 1 tomato, cut 4
  5. 1 tbsp dried shrimp powder (ebi kering halus)
  6. 1 tbsp blended candle nut (kemiri)
  7. 1 thumb of ginger, peeled and cut 4
  8. 1/2 tbsp cooking oil
  9. 1.3 L water
  10. 10 stalks of celery, cut into 5 cm length
  11. 2 tbsp fried onion
  12. 1 tbsp sugar
  13. salt to taste
IMG_2002

My ready to use blended garlic, onion, and other spices

How to cook:

  1. Heat up the wok with cooking oil until oil is hot
  2. Add ginger, stir fry until fragrant
  3. Add ingredient number 1 to 6, stir fry until fragrant
  4. Add water and ingredient number 10 to 13, bring to boil in low heat
  5. Add fish, cook with low heat until the fish is cooked through
  6. Dish out the fish from the soup. Strain the fish stock/soup into another wok. Add the fish
  7. Bring to boil again
  8. Serve hot with fried onion and finely chopped celery (if you like) and hot steam rice

Sup Kakap Merah

The boy reaction when he ate this: “Hmmmm…..enak ahh…….” (very delicious……).

He is now my number one food critic, he will say whether the dish is tasty or not or lack of something, but so far he will eat whatever serves on the table especially fish and vegetables. He doesn’t really like chicken nowadays, and he never like any kind of seafood except fish. I hope he will stay healthy always.

I tried this for the second time, and this time I added 10 lime leaves in step number 4. It turned out to be great and daddy said it was very delicious (enak banget pokoknya deh, hahahaha…..).

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

