Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Pork Meatball in Sweet Soy Sauce

Leave a comment

IMG_3827

Meatball Ingredient

  1. 160 pork (tenderloin)
  2. 1 egg
  3. 2 tbsp sweet soy sauce
  4. 1 tsp nutmeg powder
  5. 1 tsp sugar
  6. 2 tsp salt
  7. 1 tbsp fried onion
  8. 1 potato, boil and mash
  9. 5 celery, chopped

How to make meatball:

  1. Process ingredients number 1 to 6 in a food processor, set aside in a bowl
  2. Combine together with mash potato and celery, mixed well
  3. Make meatballs with your hand (wet hand)

Soup ingredient:

  1. 1.5 L water
  2. Salt to taste
  3. 1 tsp sugar
  4. 1 tsp nutmeg powder
  5. 2 tbsp sweet soy sauce
  6. 1 tbsp soy sauce
  7. 2 carrots, cut in round pieces
  8. 5 celery, chopped
  9. 1 tbsp fried onion

Method:

  1. Bring water to boil
  2. Add the meatballs, wait until they float
  3. Add sugar, salt, nutmeg powder, sweet soy sauce, soy sauce
  4. Add carrots
  5. Remove heat, add celery and fried onion
  6. Cover for 5-10 minutes
  7. Ready to serve

My mother used to say this as “sausage meatballs” or bakso sosis. This is a recipe that I got from my mom and something that she sometimes cooks for us. At first I was wondering why she called it sausage meatballs while there are no sausages in the ingredients. ย Than she said that she got this recipe from my late aunt, and my aunt who was a good cook, used to put the pork mixture into the “very long sausage skin”, steam them, cut them into pieces, and eat them with some kind of sauce.

Then suddenly I remember. When I was younger, we used to gather in one of my aunt’s house (super big house) along with my other aunts and uncles and cousins. I sometimes saw my aunt’s maids making this dish in the kitchen near the dining room. I liked to see them stuffing the meat into the sausage skin and waited when they would finish cooking so we could eat that dish. My aunts used to cook most of the food that served on the table for us when we gathered together.

It certainly is bringing my childhood memories, so many gatherings, various home cooked food on the tables, so many cousins and relatives to play with, big dogs in the backyard that always scared me, big house with many rooms which always made me wonder what was inside the rooms………………..it’s so amazing how a dish can bring back many fond memories.

This dish also very easy to make and very delicious too. Since we never have sausage skin and I know from what I saw that stuffing the meat into the skin is not an easy job to do, so we always make this into meatball soup. Adding green peas and tofu to the soup will be great too.

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

