Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Indonesia Traditional Chicken Steak (Bistik Ayam)

Leave a comment

Bistik Ayam

Ingredients:

  1. 3 chicken thighs (I always use kampong chicken)
  2. 2 thumbs of ginger, cut 2 each and bruised
  3. 1 large onion, chopped
  4. 4 cloves (cengkeh)
  5. 2 cinnamon (each about 2 cm)
  6. 1 tomato, chopped
  7. 1 tsp nutmeg powder
  8. 1.5 L water (reduce to 1 L of water if you don’t like the steak becomes too watery)
  9. 1 tbsp sugar
  10. salt, to taste
  11. 4 tbsp sweet soy sauce (reduce to 3 tbsp if use 1 L of water)
  12. 1 tbsp Worcester sauce
  13. 1 tbsp butter
  14. 2 potatoes, cut 6-8 each
  15. 250 gr green peas

Method:

  1. Melt butter in a large wok (medium heat), add large onion, ginger, cloves, and cinnamon. Stir fry until fragrant
  2. Add chicken, stir fry until the color change into white
  3. Add tomato, stir fry for 1 minute
  4. Add water
  5. Add sugar, salt, nutmeg powder, sweet soy sauce, Worcester sauce, stir until well mixed
  6. Cook in low heat for about 45 minutes
  7. Add potatoes
  8. Add green peas
  9. Remove heat, cover the wok for 1 hour. Bring to boil again before serving

Bistik Ayam

 

This is something that my mother used to cook and I always like it very much. I added some spices such as cloves and cinnamon and they made the dish tasted very delicious. In Indonesia, we used to call this dish Bistik Ayam. Ayam means chicken, and bistik comes from the term “beef steak”. People said it was because the Javanese people were quite difficult to spell beef steak, they shorten it by saying bistik instead of beef steak. Bistik used to be made with beef as the main ingredient, but later on some changes and adaptation were made to the recipe and now we have many variations of bistik, including chicken bistik (bistik ayam) and beef bistik (bistik sapi) with various combinations of Indonesian well known spices.

Everybody in the house liked this so much when I cooked this dish. Daddy said it was very tasty. I liked the smell of cloves, cinnamon, and nutmeg in the soup. Yes, this chicken steak is quite different from the beef steak, because we eat it with it’s sweet tasty soup. The potatoes also tasted very delicious after I marinated them by cooking in the soup (in low heat) that was already full of flavor. It was also very healthy because I didn’t need to fry the potatoes. My mother usually adds some carrots too to the soup. I also added tofu in the soup later on, and it was very delicious and a different way to eat tofu.

This is a must try dish with lots of vegetable can be added into the dish. It’s also very easy to make and only requires one large wok to cook.

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

