Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Baked Spaghetti

Leave a comment

Lil boy and I, we both love eating pasta. I love the bolognese style, while lil boy loves it either the pasta in tomato based sauce or in cream with cheese style. He often asks me to make basked spaghetti like I once made “a long long time ago”, but since it takes so much time to cook and preparing the ingredients, washing so many cooking appliances, it makes me kind of “lazy” to make this. So if we want to eat spaghetti, I prefer to buy it, but later on it becomes more expensive with small portions.

One day I made white bread which was “totally flop” (too dry and not good in taste), so I decided to make it to croutons. And what is the best food to accompany croutons? Baked spaghetti!! I checked my fridge and found out that I had all the ingredients that I need to make bakes spaghetti, so here we go:

Basic Ingredients:

  1. 250 gr spaghetti, cooked in the boiling water and drain
  2. Grated mozzarella cheese as much as you want

Ingredients for the sauce:

  1. 150 gr minced beef
  2. 150 gr white button mushroom or any other mushroom
  3. 1 big onion, chopped
  4. 5 cloves of garlic, minced
  5. 6 tbsp prego traditional sauce or any spaghetti sauce
  6. 5 celery, minced
  7. 1 tbsp worchester sauce
  8. 1 tsp sugar
  9. Salt to taste
  10. 400 ml water or broth
  11. 1 tbsp butter

How to prepare the sauce:

  1. Heat butter in non stick pan
  2. Add onion and garlic and stir fry until fragrant
  3. Add minced beef, stir until brown
  4. Add the spaghetti sauce, worchester sauce, sugar and salt, stir until well mixed
  5. Add mushroom, mix well
  6. Add water, bring the sauce to boil

How to prepare the baked spaghetti:

  1. Separate the beef from the sauce (the liquid part)
  2. Add spaghetti into the liquid sauce and mix well (I did this to add flavor to the spaghetti. The last time I made baked spaghetti, the spaghetti was too dry and lack in flavor, so I used this method. It turned out that the spaghetti tasted much better using this method)
  3. Preheat oven to 180C
  4. Prepare 25X25X25 cm baking pan (square) or 25 diameter (round)
  5. Place half of the spaghetti, top with all the beef sauce
  6. Cover with mozzarella cheese
  7. Add half of the spaghetti
  8. Cover with aluminium foil
  9. Bake in the oven for 45 minutes
  10. Take out from the oven, remove the foil, cover again with mozzarella cheese
  11. Baked again for 10 minutes until the cheese is melted
  12. Served with homemade croutons and parmesan cheese
Baked spaghetti

Step 6,7,and 10. It tasted delicious. i love the fact that I can add as much cheese as I want

Baked Spaghetti

My plate: baked spaghetti with croutons and parmesan cheese with “chili river”. That was what lil boy named this dish……..

Baked spaghetti

Since daddy never likes this kind of food (yeah….his favorite are soto and rawon, traditional Indonesian food), so lil boy and I finished this dish together. He ate half and I ate half, and it was very big portion……

By the way, after cooking spaghetti for so many time, I finally found some way to reduce the use of my kitchen appliances and thus  reducing my time to clean everything……………..super isn’t it?

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

