Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Bandung Getaway June 2013: Jayakarta Boutique Hotel Dago

Leave a comment

June school holiday is over now and lil boy has came back to school since last Monday. Lil boy and I spent the whole month in Jakarta. We actually planned for 3 weeks  holiday in Jakarta, but because of the hazardous haze that attacked Singapore, we decided to extent the stay. Singapore Airlines was kindly reschedule our flight without extra cost although I just phoned the airline the day before our actual flight date.

One of the place that I planned to visit was Bandung. After a long consideration, I decided to book a hotel in Dago Area because it has some short cut roads to Lembang Area ( there are more than one option to go to Lembang Area from Dago without entering the city with it’s traffic jam). I knew that none of us would be interested to go to the shopping malls or factory outlets (my family never likes shopping in Bandung’s factory outlets), so we arranged to visit all the kids play areas in Lembang. That was why staying in Dago was the best option. It is also very close to Kartika Sari, Amanda Brownies Kukus, and other snack shops. It is easy to find eating places in Dago Area.

I booked a Junior Suite in Jayakarta Hotel, and lil boy was specifically asked for a room with mountain view.

The view from our room. Ok, you might not see the mountain from here, but believe me.....we could see bih mountain from our room. The weather was cold in the morning and at night

The view from our room. Ok, you might not see the mountain from here, but believe me…..we could see the mountain from our room. The weather was cold in the morning and at night

Lil boy also asked for a kids playground and kids pool in the hotel. So many things to ask with very tight budget!

Kids Playground: checked!

Kids Playground: checked!

The budget might be a bit higher than I expected, but the smile: priceless! Hey look, the hotel even has some real birds in the kids playground

The hotel budget might be a bit higher than I expected, but the smile: priceless……….! Hey look, the hotel even has some real birds in the kids playground

Kids Pool: also checked!

Kids Pool: also checked!

For a three days and two night stays, I must also consider a room that was comfortable enough for all of us. This Junior Suite came with a living room which has a sofa bed and its own TV! How cool was that? There were two televisions in the room, so we didn’t have to watch kids channels all the time!

The living room is equipped with small TV, a mini fridge, a sofa bed, and one working table with a chair

The living room is equipped with small TV, a mini fridge, a sofa bed, and one working table with a chair

The bathroom came with a bathtub but no separate shower room. Lil boy was so exited that he decided to stayed in the room for a very long time before he went for his first swim

The bathroom came with a bathtub but no separate shower room. Lil boy was so exited that he decided to stay in the room for a very long time before he went for his first swim

There were four of us (my parents, me, and lil boy……daddy had to stay in Singapore to work), and my sister decided to join the fun  on the last minute with the approval from her new boss of course, so off we went in my sister’s new and small Yaris car. It might not be very comfortable to pack 5 people and a bunch of things in that small car, but it was fun to the maximum level! Holiday with family is always fun, rite???

We enjoyed the stay by playing in the room, watching TV, had nice chit chat, and lil boy even swam 3 times during our stay. The water in the pool was quite cold, but there was a hot water Jacuzzi near the pool. It was relaxing to dip our bodies in the very hot water like this, although not many people could stand the heat. I taught lil boy how to adapt slowly to the heat, and on the second day he finally could enjoy this Jacuzzi and could swim for a very long time.

Super hot Jacuzzi: definitely my favorite place

Super hot Jacuzzi: definitely my favorite place

This shallow pool with sand and rocks was absolutely the children's favorite place to play

This shallow pool with sand and rocks was absolutely the children’s favorite place to play

Having fun playing with new friends

Having fun playing with new friends

We spotted a beautiful rooftop garden with beautiful flowers near the pool. We could see the hotel surrounding from here. It had some nicely decorated gazebos with traditional items, but looked like not many people aware of this garden.

Hidden gem with peaceful surrounding

Hidden gem with peaceful surrounding

The breakfast was just not bad, and the good thing was that lil boy could actually enjoy his food during breakfast. He usually never liked fresh milk, but on that two days…..he could finished two glasses of milk. He finished his chicken porridge too although he usually never really liked porridge. And he also liked the “fresh from the pan” tempe mendoan which was served on the first day. The best thing was he was willing to try new food that was served.

Spread of breakfast. Kelepon (traditional cake from Java) on the bottom right was absolutely my favorite. I took all that was left and ate them all

Spread of breakfast. Kelepon (traditional cake from Java) on the bottom right was absolutely my favorite. I took all that was left and ate them all

Help yourself..............

Help yourself…………..

It was good to see his appetite

It was good to see his appetite

Although it’s an old hotel, but it’s quite clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the house keeping staff. They were polite and quick to respond. It was a nice and pleasant stay at this hotel.

Free wi-fi at the lobby only. Free welcome drink was also served self service at the lobby area

Free wi-fi at the lobby only. Free welcome drink was also served self service at the lobby area. Free car wash every morning during your stay too…..

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

