Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Oven Baked Croutons

Leave a comment

Croutons! Hmmm…..nyam……who doesn’t like this crispy and salty bite size bread? I like it best with salad and spaghetti, while my son likes it with cream soup. Either way, it’s always good to eat croutons as snack without anything else.

Some restaurants serve good and tasty croutons, while some don’t. So it always make me upset that whenever I find a restaurant which serve good croutons……..they always come in small portion. But don’t ask me to but the store-made croutons because I hate them so much. They taste awful and sometimes oily. Making my own croutons is always the best choice for me.

I’ve made non baked croutons once, but this time I tried the oven baked croutons. I made it with my homemade French Bread (my bread machine did it for me of course)………….and it’s a five stars in term of taste. Very easy to make, but delicious.

So try this and I’m sure that your family will love your homemade croutons.

Ingredients:

  • 1 loaf of French bread (recipe for homemade French Bread can be seen in here). Store for at least 2 days (if refrigerate, let it cool in room temperature). cut into croutons size
  • 6 tbsp margarine
  • 6 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • herb (your preferred choice)

Method:

  1. In a big wok, melted margarine in low heat
  2. Add garlic, stir fry until fragrant and golden brown, turn off the heat
  3. Remove the garlic, use the margarine only
  4. Add salt  and herb to the melted margarine
  5. Toss margarine mixture with cubed bread until they are evenly coated
  6. Spread the bread in baking sheet in single layer
  7. Preheat oven to 300 C
  8. Bake for 15 minutes and check if they are dry, crispy, and golden brown
  9. Bake for another 15 minutes for another side of bread
  10. Baking time may vary according to the bread size and oven condition
  11. Let it cool completely before you store them in a container or zip-lock bag

Croutons

Step 5 (top left) – Step 6 (top right) – Step 8 (bottom left) – Step 9 (bottom right)

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

