Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Tangzhong White Bread

6 Comments

This time, I’m still in the mood of “experimenting with my bread machine to make soft white bread”. The first time I read about this tangzhong method of making bread was from mommyallison’s blog, but I was too lazy to make the tangzhong. I found the idea would be troublesome as there would be an extra step of making the tangzhong paste, so I dropped the idea of even trying.

Until one day, I decided to give it a try when I was running out of idea of making white bread. Well, I could just use the usual recipe, but I really wanted to try something new and wasn’t in the mood of making the same thing that I’ve ever made.

Making bread with tangzhong method has been recommended as the best way to make the bread soft, springy, fluffy, and will last longer even though you don’t store it in the refrigerator. Well, let’s prove it.

What is tangzhong?

The method of making tangzhong was first introduced by Yvonne Chen in her book, and described as: “the secret ingredient which is originated from Japan, to make soft and bouncy bread. It’s actually a kind of flour paste, consists of 1 part of bread flour in 5 parts of water.

How to make tangzhong paste?

Ingredients:

  • 50gm/ 1/3 cup bread flour
  • 250ml/ 1cup water

Method :

  1. Combine flour and water in a saucepan (mix well until the aren’t any lumps)
  2. Cook in medium low heat, stir consistently with spatula or wooden spoon or whisk
  3. Wait until the mixture becomes thicker and thicker. Once you see lines appear in the mixture for every stir you make, than it’s done
  4. Transfer into a clean bowl. Cover with a cling wrap sticking onto the surface of tangzhong to prevent from drying up. Let it cool to room temperature before using it.
  5. The leftover tangzhong can be stored in freezer up to a few days as long as it doesn’t turn grey. The chilled tangzhong should return to room temperature before adding into other ingredients. I stored my tangzhong paste (in a plastic bag,  seal the bag, put the plastic bag in a plastic container) for 2 weeks in my freezer, and it was still very good. I made bread with my let over tanzhong and the bread turned out great.

I made the softest white bread with this tangzhong paste. My mom said it was the best bread ever that came out from my bread machine. Even after 3 days (I always forget to put my bread in fridge), it was still very good ans soft.

Method of making tangzhong white bread (put everyhing in order in the bread machine):

  1. 1/2 cup milk (I needed to add 2 tsp of milk)
  2. 120 gr tangzhong (half that I make above)
  3. 1 large egg
  4. 3 tbsp butter
  5. 2 1/2 cups bread flour
  6. 3 tbsp + 2 tsp sugar (put on top of the floor in one side)
  7. 1/2 tsp salt (put on top of the floor in the other side)
  8. 2 tsp yeast (make a small hole in the middle of top flour to put the yeast)

Setting: basic, 2 lb, light crust. Slice and enjoy


Tangzhong White Bread






Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

6 thoughts on “Tangzhong White Bread

  1. Hi… i would like to ask if you’re using instant yeast or active yeast? I just started to use my new machine and it seems like it’s not rising correctly😦

    • Hi there,
      I always use instant dry yeast. There’s a different method if you’re not using instant yeast.
      First, always check the expiry date of your yeast. And second, once the yeast is opened, always put it in the refrigerator.
      Hope it helps

  2. Hi! Do you use salted or unsalted butter?

  3. hi, i chance upon your blog after i bought my bread machine. thanks your recipe has been very helpful top me. I just have one question.. may i know why my bread look much more yellowish and crust thicker than yours?

    • Hi, thanks that I can help with my recipe.
      The look on the bread is depend on the setting in your bread maker, whether it’s light, medium, or dark. I think you should try using different kind of setting to see which one that you like better.
      The crust is also depend on the bread machine, because different brand will produce different crust (my friend who bought different brand showed the picture of the bread, and the crust of the bread was thicker than mine), but as long as the taste is OK, I don’t think it’s a big problem at all.
      Hope it helps.

Leave a Reply

