Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Shrimp Balls Soup (Sup Bola Udang)

Leave a comment

I made this soup for the first time, and was not very sure about the outcome. I love shrimp, but I never made shrimp stock before this. I was afraid with the fishy taste and smell from my shrimp stock. Well, actually…….after the dish was done……..there was no fishy taste or fishy smell at all. It was fresh and delicious, especially when is was served hot in the rainy days. The good things was….everyone liked it.

I must say that although it was very easy to make, but it took lots of effort to clean the shrimp, peeled, boil, strain, making the balls, and not to mention all the kitchen appliances that had to be washed. But still, I will make it again and again because it’s delicious and so fresh…..

Ingredients:

For the shrimp ball:

Blend all these together in a food processor until all ingredients are mixed well:

  • 350 gr shrimps, peeled
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 7 cloves of garlic, minced and fried
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp sugar

Add these into the shrimp mixture and mix well:

  • 1 dried black mushroom, dip into the water for 1o minutes, finely chopped
  • 1 carrot, peeled, grated

After combining all the ingredients, form shrimp balls from the shrimp mixture (take one spoonful of shrimp mixture, make ball with your hand)

For the soup:

  • 1 kg shrimp, but this time take the shells only to make shrimp stock
  • 3 chicken feet (can combine with chicken necks)
  • 1.5 L water
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/4 large onion, minced
  • 10 lime leaves
  • 1 tsp margarine / butter
  • Salt, sugar, pepper to taste
  • 1 pack of tofu, cut into 6

Method:

  1. Melted butter in a large wok , add onion and large garlic, stir fry until fragrant
  2. Add shrimp shells and chicken feet, stir fry until they change color
  3. Add water and lime leaves
  4. Cook in low heat for 1 hour
  5. Turn off the heat, pour the stock through a mesh strainer into a saucepan until all liquid is extracted
  6. Cook the stock again in low heat, bring to boil
  7. Add the shrimp ball, wait until all the balls floating
  8. Add sugar, salt, and pepper
  9. Add tofu, cook again for 3 minutes, turn off the heat
  10. Transfer to a bowl, add fried shallots, cilantro leaves or celery for garnish
Steps of making the soup: step 3-6-7

Steps of making the soup: step 3-6-7

End Result: Shrimp Balls With Tofu Soup

End Result: Shrimp Balls With Tofu Soup

 

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

