Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

KL Trip March 2013 – Itinerary and Eating Places

Leave a comment

I chose KL for our holiday destination after read some recommendations that this city offers many attractions and activities for kids, as well as many shopping centers with “good bargain”. We’d known from the first time that the consequences of bringing this lil boy along was to entertain him and make him happy during this trip (because if he’s happy, than we are happy), in other words we must bring him to many play areas and children attractions. So, from the first time before we went to KL, we already agreed that my parents and us would walk in separate ways. They would do some shopping while we took lil boy to kids places of interest. There are many things to do and see for children in KL, but after we did our selection carefully and also considering the very limited time we had, our final itinerary came as follows: Day 1:

  • Arrive, lunch
  • Hotel check in
  • KLCC (Kuala Lumpur City Center) Park for lil boy and shopping in Sungei Wang and Giant Supermarket for my parents
  • Visiting Jalan Alor (night street food) for me and daddy

Day 2:

  • Morning swim at the hotel
  • National Science Center for lil boy
  • Lake Gardens for lil boy
  • While lil boy was visiting NSC and Lake Gardens, my parents went to China Town for another shopping experience
  • Visiting Jalan Alor for my parents and daddy

Day 3:

  • Morning swim at the hotel
  • Hotel Check Out 
  • Berjaya Times Square Theme Park for lil boy and sightseeing in Berjaya Times Square Mall for my parents and daddy
  • Go to airport to go home

We planned to visit Petrosains too before we played in KLCC Park, but for some reasons that I will explain in my next post, we cancelled the plan. But actually it is recommended for children to visit Petrosains to broaden their knowledge. Another places to visit in KL for children are Bird Park, Zoo, Aquaria KLCC, and some museums. There are also many shopping centers around the town which I can not review since I didn’t go to any of them at all. For most tourists, going to Petronas Tower and take decent photos with different angles is a very important thing to do when visiting KL, but we skipped it since it didn’t bring interest to any of our tour member.

Based on my parents’ review, the price in China Town is cheaper than Sungei Wang Plaza (although the difference is only 2-4 ringgits). If you’re not good at bargaining, just go to shops with fixed price (many of the stores sell their goods in fixed price). The trick is to compare between one store to another, and shop in the store that offered cheapest price. There are free shuttle bus to China Town and around the street, for more information please check: www.malaysia-traveller.com/KL-City-Bus.html

Shopping in Giant is also very cheap comparing to Singapore. One thing that my mother remembers and always talks about it even until just now, is that this supermarket sells garlic in a very cheap price, hahaha………yeah, she said that in the middle of “Indonesia’s garlic and onion crisis…..the time when garlic and onion sold in an unbelievable, crazy, and very high price in the market”.

Ok, enough with our itinerary, now we will show some eating places.

Going to KL would not be complete without visiting their famous night street food market in Jalan Alor. Going here is actually very easy once you are familiar with Bukit Bintang Area after wondering here for few hours. From Bukit Bintang Monorail Station, cross the street, turn right, turn left, walk straight until you see KFC on the right, turn right, turn left again. This is a very long street with hundreds of food and beverages stalls, fruit stalls,  food stalls, snack shops, etc. It is more like a hawker center actually, but in bigger size. This place is always very crowded (with tourists mostly). Perhaps eating under the starts really increase their appetites.

Most of the stalls sell Chinese food, Malay/Indonesian food (they’re almost the same right?). There are also Thai food and Western food. Be careful of cars passing this not too wide street. Perhaps it is better that this street is closed for cars at night so people can really enjoy eating out and walking along the street without worrying about the cars passing by.

In here, you can find fruit stalls selling fruits such as: bananas, durian, duku, mangosteen, pineapple, watermelon, rambutan, and many other fruits. The beverages stalls included: cendol, yoghurt, ice cream, fruit juices, cane dew, thai young coconut, etc. The various food stalls that I can remember are: fried oyster, satay, chicken rice, fish, prawns, stir fry vegetables, meatballs, tom yam, french fries, tofu, etc. All the food that we tried tasted good and delicious although they didn’t come in cheap price, but it was a nice experience since we like street food better for their authentic taste.

Night street food market at Jalan Alor

Night street food market at Jalan Alor

Ice Kacang and Cendol King for 3 ringgits. I like this so much that I had this for 2 nights

Ice Kacang and Cendol King for 3 ringgits. I like this so much that I had this for 2 nights

Chicken satay with ketupat for 11 ringgits. Nice, but lack of sweet soy sauce that usually added in Indonesian chicken satay

Chicken satay with ketupat for 11 ringgits. Nice, but lack of sweet soy sauce that usually added in Indonesian chicken satay

Turkish Ice Cream (chocolate, vanilla, and durian flavor) for 12 ringgits. Lil boy of course chose vanilla flavor.

Turkish Ice Cream (chocolate, vanilla, and durian flavor) for 12 ringgits. Lil boy of course chose vanilla flavor.

Dinner's ready! Don't get deceived by the appearance of these noddles and vegetables.....they are absolutely delicious!

Dinner’s ready! Don’t get deceived by the appearance of these noddles and vegetables…..they are absolutely delicious!

Eating time.......the grilled fish at the top tasted more delicious than the steam one in the middle. The tofu and meat (bottom) came in one big bowl of serving and was finished by lil boy alone.

Eating time…….the grilled fish at the top tasted more delicious than the steam one in the middle. The tofu and meat (bottom) came in one big bowl of serving and was finished by lil boy alone.

End the dinner with light snack and sipped the sweet coconut water

End the dinner with light snack and sipped the sweet coconut water

Next stop is where we had breakfast. Since the hotel doesn’t provide breakfast at all (no restaurants since we stayed in a condo hotel), we had to go out to have our breakfast. There aren’t many food stalls opened in the morning, but there are some just in front of Federal Hotel and Seven Eleven which open since morning. The choices are rice with your choices of veggie and meat, hainanese rice with pork roast (yummy….), and noodles. Overall, the taste was great. The hainanese rice with pork came in quite cheap price, which was only 6.5 ringgits. I like their wonton noddle better than the one in Singapore. The lor mee was just so so. My parents like their choices of vegetables and meat. And one more thing, nasi lemak only costed for 1.5 ringgits. There were some food stalls, but we chose the very first stall just opposite the back door of Sungei Wang Plasa. The owner was very nice and the food seemed better than the others.

Top: lor mee and wonton noodle. Bottom: pork rice and nasi lemak

Top: lor mee and wonton noodle. Bottom: pork rice and nasi lemak

Not enough with the food? Here are some “jajan pasar” or snacks that I like a lot (we used to buy this when I was small in the wet market near my house in Jakarta)

Bacang, talam, and talam ketan

Bacang, talam, and talam ketan

From Jalan Alor, we’ll move to this restaurant which actually might be familiar in most places (of the world???), but having heard that the price in KL is almost half the price in Singapore, you bet we didn’t miss the opportunity to eat here. Although I never eat this in Singapore, but in my calculation this might be cheaper since we only spent 82 ringgits for the three of us. With 3 glasses of juice, 3 main meals, and one soup with garlic bread……this was quite a good bargain. So do try this Kenny Rogers Roasted Restaurant if you happen to be in KL.

Orange juice and triple punch. Love the fruit punch so much that we ordered this twice

Orange juice and triple punch. Love the fruit punch so much that we ordered this twice

Hi, this is my order: mushroom soup with garlic bread and cheesy rice with potato herb and mac and cheese and rice. Gee, I hope I don't make my dad bankrupt since every time we eat at the restaurant, my food is always the most expensive one between the three of us

Hi, this is my order: mushroom soup with garlic bread and cheesy rice with potato herb and mac and cheese and rice. Gee, I hope I don’t make my dad bankrupt since every time we eat at the restaurant, my food is always the most expensive one between the three of us.

Chicken with barbecue sauce (left) and black pepper (right). I like both of them but their crisp salad with fresh vegetables was absolutely the best for me. This restaurant is located in KLCC

Chicken with barbecue sauce (left) and black pepper (right). I like both of them but their crisp salad with fresh vegetables was absolutely the best for me. This restaurant is located in KLCC

And if you think that was all, wait……they still have fast food like this:

Fish and chips from Hornbill Restaurant in Lake Gardens. Together with fried rice they made us 34 ringgits poorer than before.

Fish and chips from Hornbill Restaurant in Lake Gardens. Together with fried rice they made us 34 ringgits poorer than before. We like the  fried wantons the most. Yap, you’re right, the food on the left for lil boy was of course more expensive than ours. But we didn’t mind at all

And, the last one is this:

Chicken rice from Chicken Rice and More in Berjaya Times Square

Chicken rice from Chicken Rice and More in Berjaya Times Square. I think I wasn’t craving for chicken rice at that time that I found nothing special with this food while everybody said it was good. It was cheap though

Overall, we think the taste of food in KL is much better than in here (to our taste of course), because they resemble Indonesian food and use more spices than Singaporean food. I had no problem at all with my lil boy eating habit during our trip, as he kept eating and snacking and drinking his milk every few hours in large amount of quantity (more than his usual portion). He ate everything that we gave him, including some food that he usually refuses. But, as a result, he got sore throat and cough when he got home. I think this was also because the lack of sleep (it was so hard to ask him to rest and sleep since he wanted to play until midnight and woke up early in the morning).

Last but not least, don’t forget to bring back these nice and famous Beryl’s chocolates from Malaysia:

My favorite: almond in dark chocolate. We bough this in Giant for 16.5 ringgits

My favorite: almond in dark chocolate. We bought this in Giant for 16.5 ringgits. I also bought some biscuits for lil boy and my dad bought oatmeal and orange marmalade which he said were very cheap

With our full tummies, we are ready to explore…..!

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

