Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Potato Pie in A Cup (Resep Pastel Tutup)

Leave a comment

Potato Pie

In celebrating Chinese New Year in his school, lil boy had to bring food to share with his friends. Actually I planned to bring him chicken meatballs or bitterballen or croquet, but he said he must bring healthy food (meaning non fried food). So, I chose this food to cook. It is very healthy because it contains of chicken, vegetables, potatoes, cheese, and also milk.

For my lil boy who likes savory food so much, this dish really suites his taste. When I baked the first batch the night before he should bring this to school, he finished 2 cups and still wanted some more. But I said no because I had to save some for tomorrow. In total, he ate 5 cups of these pies.

In Indonesia, it is well known as pastel tutup. Since I had to name this dish, so lil boy could explain if his teacher asked him the name of this dish, I called it Potato Pie in A Cup. It is healthy and also easy to make. The taste is very good and suitable for breakfast or afternoon snack.

I used to make this while lil boy was still in kindergarten with different recipe, but so far I can say that this was my best recipe modification.

Ingredients:

Mash Potato:

  • 2 potatoes (about 320 gr), boil/steam, mashed
  • 1 tbsp margarine
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 cup fresh milk
  • 2 tbsp parmesan cheese

The Fillings:

  • 1 chicken breast, cut to small pieces
  • 1 cheese pork sausage (lil boy had to bring halal food, so I didn’t use this)
  • 1 baby carrot, grated
  • 2 dried black mushroom (jamur merang), soak in cold water for 10 minutes, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp frozen green peas
  • 1/4 large onion, grated
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 100 ml fresh milk
  • 1 tbsp flour

Cooking:

Mash Potatoes:

  1. Mix well the potatoes with other ingredients in a bowl

The Fillings:

  1. Pour 1 tsp of oil into the pan in low heat
  2. Add onion and garlic, stir until fragrant
  3. Add chicken, stir until nice and light brown
  4. Add carrot and mushroom
  5. Add green peas
  6. Add salt and pepper, stir until everything is well cooked
  7. Set aside in a bowl
  8. Add butter in a pan in low heat until melted
  9. Add flour, stir well
  10. Add milk, stir until the milk mixed well with the flour
  11. Add other fillings which is in the bowl
  12. Mixed well
  13. Set aside in a bowl

Finishing:

  1. Prepare 15 small cups
  2. Fill each cup with the fillings (should cover 3/4 of the cup)
  3. Potato PiePut the mash potato on top of the fillings until each cup is full
  4. IMG_5220Bake for 20 minutes (180C)
  5. Potato PieTake out from the oven
  6. Brush lightly with egg yolk
  7. Add cheese (I mixed mozzarella, cheddar, and parmesan)
  8. Potato PieBake for another 20 minutes (180C)
Potato Pie

Yummylicious

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

