Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

(Family Favorite): Chicken Rice Recipe

Leave a comment

Chicken Rice

My family loves chicken rice so much. Especially since we live in Singapore, chicken rice has been one of our favorite food so far. When we go out and do not know what to eat, we usually choose chicken rice. The problem is, not all food sellers can make delicious chicken rice. Some recommendations are Boon Tong Kee, the one in Lucky Plaza 5th floor (I don’t know the name), the one in Kopitiam Changi T3 is also quite good (the one on the right), and Chicken Rice Balls in Malaysian Food Court in Sentosa. The others are just medium or even not good at all. We’ve tried chicken rice in so many places, even the ones recommended by other people, but they just never satisfy our appetite.

I already read and studied many chicken rice recipes since years ago (seriously), but never had the courage of making it myself. The long list of ingredients and methods had frightened me. I was too afraid if the result wasn’t good at all. After all, looking at the recipes, I found them too difficult for me. Besides, I didn’t cook a lot when I was working.

When we moved here and I have to cook almost everyday, I decided to gave this recipe a try. I got accustomed with cooking, spices, cooking methods, etc…..so I thought actually this one was not that difficult.

At first, I found this very tough and difficult….especially with so many things to do before the dish is ready. But the result was awesome. Everybody said it was delicious. Daddy and lil boy ate a lot……I’d never seen anybody eaten that much of chicken rice. I served it for lunch, and each of them just kept eating and eating until there was nothing left at night. It was a really big portion and there were just the three of us, and I didn’t eat much. So basically, the rice (I cooked twice) and the whole chicken plus the soup were finished by lil boy and his daddy. Daddy even asked me to cook this again and praised my chicken rice in front of other people. Well, I said I can not cook this very often, because I like the cooking but not the cleaning and washing all my kitchen appliances after all the cooking is done.

For the second time, I found it easier to cook this dish. Well, actually it isn’t that difficult. It didn’t take a very long time for me to cook like the first time. It is really worth the effort. I must say that this recipe surpasses Boon Tong Kee and other places that I already mentioned, especially because we can add the chicken and the sauce as much as we want. The total cost is also very cheap (if I compare the cooking cost with the cost when the three of us eat outside with the same amount of food).

And this is the recipe:

For the rice

  • 350 ml uncooked rice, washed (I always use Thai rice)
  • 3 tbsp garlic and chicken skin oil (I fried 3 cloves of minced garlic and some chicken skin in 3 tbsp vegetable oil until golden brown. Set aside the garlic and chicken skin, and use the oil only)
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 shallots, minced
  • 2 thumbs of young ginger, bruised
  • 2 tbsp sesame oil
  • 6 tbsp soy sauce
  • 10 tbsp chicken broth
  • Chicken broth to cook the rice (the amount is depending on the rice that you use)
  • 20 Coriander leaves

For the chicken

  • 1 whole kampong chicken (do not cut)
  • 2 thumbs of ginger, bruised
  • 6 stalks of scallion, washed and cut
  • 1 carrot, roughly chopped
  • 3 tsp of salt
  • Cold Water

For the chicken sauce

  • 5 tbsp light soy sauce
  • 5 tbsp chicken broth
  • 2 tbsp sesame oil
  • 3 tbsp garlic and chicken skin oil

Garnish

  • Cucumber
  • Coriander leaves
  • Young ginger

Methods:

Cooking the chicken and make chicken broth

  1. Wash the chicken, drain well, stuff ginger and scallion into the chickenโ€™s cavity. Scrub 2 tsp salt all over the chicken skin
  2. Boil water in a stockpot (the water must cover the chicken) with carrot and 1 tsp salt
  3. Submerge the chicken (breast side down in the boiling water) for 1-1.5 hour in lower heat depending on the chicken. Cover the stockpot while making the chicken broth
  4. Remove the chicken in cold water immediately (must cover the chicken) for ten minutes to stop the cooking process. Keep the chicken broth for later use.
  5. Drain the chicken, discard ginger and scallion from the cavity and set it aside to cool before chopping it into desired serving size.

Cooking the rice

  1. Heat garlic and chicken skin oil in a wok, fry ginger until fragrant
  2. Add garlic and shallots, stir fry until golden brown
  3. Add the rice, stir fry for about 3 minutes
  4. Add sesame oil, soy sauce, and 10 tbsp of chicken broth. Stir fry for about 3 minutes
  5. Turn off the fire, add coriander leaves and mixed with the rice
  6. Transfer to rice cooker, add chicken broth in the suggested amount to cook the rice

Preparing the chicken

  1. Arrange cucumber, ginger, coriander leaves, and chopped chicken in a plate
  2. Heat 3 tbsp garlic and chicken skin oil in a wok. Pour into the chicken
  3. Using the same wok, bring to boil the chicken sauce (soy sauce, chicken broth, sesame oil)
  4. Pour into the chicken

Preparing the soup

  1. Boil the desire amount of chicken broth to make the soup
  2. Add celery / spring onion (finely chopped), fried shallots, and salt to taste
  3. Serve the rice with the chicken and the soup and chili sauce (combination of red chili, minced garlic and ginger, salt and sugar, coriander leaves, lime juice, and chicken broth)
The chicken broth for the sauce

The chicken broth for the soup

While the rice was still hot, I made some rice balls for lil boy

While the rice was still hot, I made some rice balls for lil boy

My chicken rice

My chicken rice

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

