Everyday Is A Miracle

Be happy and enjoy every single bite of it

Love Letters

Leave a comment

I’m not going to write about love letters (literally), but about cookies or snacks that only appear in Singapore once a year during Chinese New Year (according to the sellers).

Why love letters? Well, according to http://thefestivegoodies.com, the history is like this:

“Centuries ago, a deeply in love couple were separated due to family objections. However, the love between them were so strong they found an opportunity to communicate through writing Love Letters, this letters were fold into triangular shape and hide among the goodies that were supposed to be delivered to relatives. The couple finally manage to meet and left, no one had ever had from them again. This lovely history was since embedded into the goodies we see every year. It was only after that that the shape modernism to rolls and also known as Egg Rolls.”

All I know, these cookies come in 3 flavors, which are original, chocolate, and strawberry. They are made of coconut milk, rice and tapioca flour, sugar and eggs, and molded in to thin batter.  When I wanted to but one can of these cookies, the seller told me that they only appear during Chinese New Year, and after that they are gone. So she urged me to buy, which I did with a big smile inside my heart.

Do you know what are these? Yap, in Indonesia we call these "semprong", and no need to wait until Chinese New Year to eat them. They are available all year long......

Do you know what are these? Yap, in Indonesia we call these “semprong”, and no need to wait until Chinese New Year to eat them. They are available all year long……with many flavors such as original, chocolate, strawberry, vanilla, coffee, cheese, durian, etc……See, that why I was smiling.

They are crispy and sweet, and we all love them.

Hmm....crunchy.......snacking these while watching TV

Hmm….crunchy…….snacking these while watching TV

Other food that appear during Chinese New Year are kueh bangkit, pineapple tarts (we call them “nastar” in Indonesia), prawn roll, many many many mandarin oranges in the market, etc. I like going to supermarket during these days to see all the red color in the food and drink that usually do not appear on daily basis.

The supermarket halls are now getting narrow during this season because they put so many food and drink all along the supermarket halls. Food and drink that will usually disappear after the celebration is over.

Red packets or ang pow or angpau, to be given to given by established married couples to the younger non-married children of the family

Red packets or ang pow or angpau, to be given to given by married couples to the younger non-married children of the family and also the couple’s parents or elder close relatives. We fill the red envelopes with money , and the amount is depending on some factors (like bigger amount usually given to parents)

Five elements of lucky bamboo set (metal, wood, water, fire, earth)

Five elements of lucky bamboo set (metal, wood, water, fire, earth)

I

I loveeeee oranges. One of my favorite thing during CNY when I was younger was actually seeing the cheap oranges being sold in the supermarket. My family are oranges lovers, so we could buy kilos of this fruit just for ourselves. Too bad lil boy doesn’t like oranges

The drinks......

The drinks……

Yee Sang, a symbol of prosperity.

Yee Sang, a symbol of prosperity. The popular custom is for all round the dining table to toss the ingredients high in the air with joyful exclamations of “Loh Hey” (toss high). The significance of the tossing is to wish for abundant luck and happiness for all

All the yummy and delicious food

All the yummy and delicious food

This is the first time that I will be celebrating CNY in Singapore, so it will be interesting to see what it’s like. This is a big day for people in Singapore, and most supermarkets, stores, and restaurants will be closed during CNY. People will gather in their family house to have a feast together so it will be quite empty on the streets (just like Hari Raya Idul Fitri) in Jakarta.

Author: cruiseoflife

Hi there. I'm from Indonesia but now live quite far away from my home country. I love cooking for my family. I learned how to cook for the first time from my mom and I believe that mom's cooking is always the best, and I do hope that my son will feel the same too even though he grows up so fast. I love Indonesian food as I grew up with it, and I promise to myself that my son, although he doesn't live in Indonesia right now, will always like and enjoy authentic Indonesian food. I make this blog so that my family will always remember our togetherness and happy time that we had, are having, and will have when we eat together and have good memories about a mother's love through her dishes. Hopefully these recipes will help other people to make healthy home cooked dishes for their families.

Leave a Reply

